Retirement to Bahamas

Mike and Judy have been sailing for some 25 years. We have dreamed for years about retiring and sailing to the Bahamas and Caribbean. We are living our dream!

05 February 2013 | Riverside Marina
26 March 2012
17 March 2012
15 March 2012
15 March 2012
06 March 2012
04 March 2012
28 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
21 February 2012
21 February 2012
12 February 2012

Judy's Great Dinghy Roundup

05 March 2010
So, it's Saturday, the day after our dangerous and challenging night with strong winds, lightning and the real risk of impending danger. We're both up early and I'm boat bound so despite the continuing strong winds, I feel the need to get into town. I leave Judy and Chopin in charge.

I spend a couple hours in town getting basic provisions. As well there is a book signing by Tim Dorsey at a local book store. Tim is one of the several authors, including Carl Hiassen, Laurence Shames, James W. Hall, Tom Corcoran and a few others whose books I've been reading for years,. They are mystery books set in south Florida and speak to the seedy side of life in this area. So, my afternoon involves a stop at West Marine, pick up Tim's book and a quick conversation with the aforementioned, fill up three water containers, check into the Marina to see where we are on the mooring waiting list, then back to Sea Sharp.

It's still windy as I dinghy back to Sea Sharp. When I land back at the boat I yell to Judy to help me unload the various pieces of cargo onto the boat. We ferry the stuff on to Sea Sharp but I forget to tie off the dinghy and as I step on board Sea Sharp, our dinghy, in the still fierce winds, drifts away from the boat, heading towards the mangroves - this our brand new dinghy.

Judy is quick to the rescue and immediately dons her bathing suite and, despite the unseasonably cold weather, jumps into the water. She catches up with it at the edge of the mangroves but now, how can she get back to Sea Sharp? It's very windy and she cannot make progress back. Nothing I can do as I obviously don't have a dinghy (and I ain't goin' in to this cold water). Judy is able to swim/drag the dinghy towards a neighbouring boat and then can hold on to it. The owners (and friends) are not on board and their ladder is up so Judy cannot heave herself into the dinghy, nor climb unto the boat. I'm now getting a bit worried. In a while another dinghy is coming through the creek and I commandeer him to come to Judy's rescue, which he gladly does. With his aid and some acrobatics Judy is back in the dinghy and brings it back to Sea Sharp. She's quite proud of herself; I'm less proud of not tying off the dinghy.

Fast forward two weeks (I'll fill in the blanks in ensuing blogs) and we're on a mooring in the harbour now, right at the front of this huge fleet of boats. Guess what? We're unloading the dinghy and once again, I forget to tie it off and away it goes. And, once again Judy plunges into the cold water, to retrieve. This time, there are lots of people around and watching and I endure a lot of teasing for my poor nautical skill.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sea Sharp
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter Legend 37.5
Hailing Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada
Crew: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
About:
Mike will be retiring in September 2008 after a long and rewarding career with the civil service in New Brunswick, Canada. I will end my career as President of Service New Brunswick, the "single window" service delivery agency for multi-jurisdictional government services to citizens and businesses. [...]

Preparing for Retirement Trip

Who: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada