Retirement to Bahamas

Mike and Judy have been sailing for some 25 years. We have dreamed for years about retiring and sailing to the Bahamas and Caribbean. We are living our dream!

05 February 2013 | Riverside Marina
26 March 2012
17 March 2012
15 March 2012
15 March 2012
06 March 2012
04 March 2012
28 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
21 February 2012
21 February 2012
12 February 2012

Sisyphean Soliloqy

24 November 2010
So before you think I've contracted an exotic, sexually transmitted, tropical disease down here in Florida while Judy is half a country away in New Jersey, let me explain.

In Greek mythology, Sisyphus was a King who for improper deeds was condemned by the gods to cceaselessly push a rock to the top of a mountain, whence the stone would fall back of its own weight. They had thought with some reason that there is no more dreadful punishment than futile and hopeless labor.

Well, I've felt a big like poor old Sisyphus lately trying desperately to gain progress on my davit project only to be set back by the inefficiency and indolence of this boat yard. Some minor progress was noted yesterday but I am getting tired of hanging around waiting for things to happen. I woke up very early this morning, and resolved to cancel the whole deal, restoring the boat back to her previous condition, settling on reasonable financial arrangement and getting on with our winter cruise. Well, just when I had given up, the installer showed up and began to fabricate the stern rail part of the system. So, up the mountain, I go again, pushing that damnable rock. I am pleased, however, to report that good progress has been made today and the whole integrated stern rail has been made.

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving which is a big deal down here. I will do laundry, clean the boat and perhaps do some more maintenance. I may even go for a run and do some reading.

Today was my birthday and I received many wishes from my friends from Facebook. While there are lots of great folks here in the yard, I've been somewhat lonely for Judy and Chopin and my many friends. But the water beckons and I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. If only Sisyphus' rock would stop rolling back down on me......
Comments
Vessel Name: Sea Sharp
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter Legend 37.5
Hailing Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada
Crew: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
About:
Mike will be retiring in September 2008 after a long and rewarding career with the civil service in New Brunswick, Canada. I will end my career as President of Service New Brunswick, the "single window" service delivery agency for multi-jurisdictional government services to citizens and businesses. [...]

Preparing for Retirement Trip

Who: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada