Retirement to Bahamas

Mike and Judy have been sailing for some 25 years. We have dreamed for years about retiring and sailing to the Bahamas and Caribbean. We are living our dream!

05 February 2013 | Riverside Marina
26 March 2012
17 March 2012
15 March 2012
15 March 2012
06 March 2012
04 March 2012
28 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
21 February 2012
21 February 2012
12 February 2012

Sea Sharp Reunion

31 January 2012
So in my second to last blog post, I noted that I had returned to Sea Sharp after having returned home to New Brunswick to assist with my sister in the preparation of our family home for its sale. With the real estate situation behind me, I redoubled efforts to get Sea Sharp in the water and ready for Judy and Chopin to join me for our winter adventures.

I returned on a Monday and aimed for a Friday launch. Much to do in the meantime, even though I had more than two weeks on board before my hasty return to NB. Nonetheless, I was able to launch on that Friday and was squeezed into a slip in preparation for a departure on Saturday morning for Stuart where I would reunite with Judy and Chopin. I awoke early Saturday to blustery weather and, in fact, record rainfall. Notwithstanding, I was determined to get to Stuart and away I went. It’s not a long (30 miles) or difficult (all on ICW/St. Lucie River) journey but there’s always an extra worry on the first journey of the season as lots of things can go wrong and I was solo.

While other years we had gone to Sunset Bay Marina in Stuart to prepare Sea Sharp for the winter cruising, Judy and I decided to opt for another marina in Stuart, Loggerhead. We loved Sunset Bay but we planned on spending some time before we head out so we decided on Loggerhead because we would be on a dock and it has a pool. More on this on the next post.

So, early Saturday afternoon, I arrive at the marina, tie up and prepare the boat for the Admiral (Judy) and Mascot (Chopin) to fly into West Palm Beach on Sunday. Thanks to Riverside Marina buddies Bill and Bob, we had delivered Judy’s jeep to Stuart so I could go to pick them up.

And a great reunion it was. The flight, normally as traumatic for Judy as for Chopin was fine. Chopin had been tranquilized and some combination of the meds and his advancing age made for an uneventful trip. Both were pleased to get back on board!
Comments
Vessel Name: Sea Sharp
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter Legend 37.5
Hailing Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada
Crew: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
About:
Mike will be retiring in September 2008 after a long and rewarding career with the civil service in New Brunswick, Canada. I will end my career as President of Service New Brunswick, the "single window" service delivery agency for multi-jurisdictional government services to citizens and businesses. [...]

Preparing for Retirement Trip

Who: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada