Retirement to Bahamas

Mike and Judy have been sailing for some 25 years. We have dreamed for years about retiring and sailing to the Bahamas and Caribbean. We are living our dream!

05 February 2013 | Riverside Marina
26 March 2012
17 March 2012
15 March 2012
15 March 2012
06 March 2012
04 March 2012
28 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
21 February 2012
21 February 2012
12 February 2012

My Favourite Spots - Notes from the Admiral

17 October 2008
Cruising now into our 7th week over a thousand miles since that last emotional day in Douglas Harbour, I am now experiencing all the bays, canals, harbours, anchorage spots I've heard over the years at dinner parties, yacht club meetings and Douglas Harbour happy hours particularly from fellow friends/sailors Mike and Bonnie who have sailed several years to the Bahamas. Thanks for all your info M&B and now it is coming to life for me as I always had visions of these various places and how I would handle stress moments. I'm happy to say very few have been stressful to say the least. It is has been most exciting and an adventure every day especially once we left Maine as I have been through many sailing adventures there with lots of foggy vacations, nasty weather rafted to 3 boats on a mooring in the middle of a gale up all night watching fenders bump up and down, anchors crossing. Some of my stressful experiences have not been overwhelming for me from my past encounters with mother nature; on the contrary we have had so many sunny warm days since we left. This was most surprising to both Mike and I. And have not been cold yet, one or two mornings we had mittens at 6 a.m. but not long into the day we're striping layers off. We haven't used our propane heater/fireplace yet as well but wait till November time will tell.

Early on in our trip twice we were underway about two hours and Mike asked if Chopin and I were uncomfortable and the rule was if so we alter course which we did so he stuck to his promise. My first very stressful time was coming into Gloucester during one of these altered course episodes trying to get on a mooring with a pick up stick in big winds and rain on the forward deck in foul weather gear with our Marriage Savers. After two tries finally got it but it's difficult to pull up the stick when the bow is moving and back and forth from the wind and then tying the line to the cleat. So once we were settled the harbour master came by and said we had to change to another mooring; imagine we had to do all that over again after my heart was setting down and ready for a cocktail to settle my nerves. This was the outer harbour of Gloucester behind the break water but we didn't feel comfortable here with heavy gale warning coming so we moved into a town and picked up a mooring with little problems. However the next day in 30 plus knot winds we attempted to put an extra line on the mooring but the winds were so loud and with my impaired hearing I could hardly hear Mikes' instructions so he got impatient and my Irish temper got the best of me but this is the only time since we left I yelled at the Captain. So that tells you something of our few stressful moments.

Anchoring/dragging was one of my fears for this cruise as we have anchored in St. John river many times which is a piece of cake and most of our boating life has been on our beautiful mooring in Douglas Harbour , NB. I am starting to feel more confident anchoring with myself at the wheel and Mike forward working the windlass (worthy investment for sure) giving me instructions with our ear phones (another great asset). Early on in Long Island Sound we anchored in a beautiful long winding marshy cove but very small area with at the time I thought lots of boats and not enough room to anchor. We dropped anchor and I could feel us moving back towards another boat while my hands shook on the wheel I said to my captain I think we're dragging, he didn't agree and moved the gear into a hard reverse to check sure enough we were dragging, (famous last notes from the Admiral, what did I know of dragging anchor), we try a second time and drag again by this time I'm ready for a valium but keep my feelings to my self. We moved into a new location and the anchor finally set. Not telling Mike my whole body was shaking by this time definitely need a cocktail.

Now I am more confident and actually put the boat in hard reverse my self without orders and getting the feel of Sea Sharp when the anchor is solid. But have more and more anchoring ahead of me; will, keep you informed of my progress. I am very proud that I was at the wheel through the Cap Cod Canal, Hell's Gate NY City right to the 79th street Marina, and out again to Staten Island, entrance to Barnegat (this was wild) and C&D Canal. All the places I've heard so much about. But much of our trip as been on auto helm with Mike and I taking turns at watch. This is a most relaxing way to travel but I miss sailing Sea Sharp as the winds have not been favourable but her time will come especially in the Bahamas.

Favourite spots: Always enjoy Roque Island in Maine, we hit a beautiful sunny day there with a gorgeous sunset and only 3 boats at anchor with a walk on the beach. I always think of my dear friend Carolyn at a harbour such as this. Look forward to having her and Bob aboard in a couple of weeks. Even though we were there for hurricane Hanna, North East Harbour Maine appeals to me as I love the quaint town shops, great stop for fine wines, showers and laundry wash. I also like the floating wharfs and we felt quite secure there despite Hanna. We had a beautiful hike along the beaches and town of Biddeford Pool, New Hampshire a gorgeous very wealthy summer home harbour but the season had closed down so it seemed like a ghost town. But another beautiful sunset while we dined on the deck. I had a swim at Sakonnet, Rhode Island, which pleased me as I love to swim and wasn't expecting to swim till much later in the cruise. We also had a a lovely walk on the beach and met a couple with 3 beautiful golden retrievers. I took some pics of the dogs swimming, nice moment for me as I love animals. Mystic was a very memorable harbour for us both as we met up with Tom and Lisa former owners of our now Sea Sharp. We had them over for supper and shared our traveling experiences. They now live aboard a very comfortable spacious, 38 Catamaran in a very busy harbour. I'm happy to say I was at wheel coming into Mystic as well. Hundreds of boats moor or have slips but very quiet as season is ending as well and many owners not on board. We also had a long beautiful hike here. Of course I really enjoyed my four days on land in New Jersey, danced with my father who turned 84 while I was there, had wonderful chats with Mom and was happy to show them and some of my siblings, as well as niece and nephew, Megan and Ryan our new home on the water Sea Sharp, which was in a slip in a quaint harbour on the Cohasey river (reminded us of the St. John river) about an hour from my parents home. We met a retired chief of police of Vineland county there a fellow sailor who was kind enough to drive us all the way to Cinnaminson right to the doorstep of my home in NJ. Many thanks Mario, hope our paths cross again. I really loved Fairlee harbour in the Chesapeake Bay as I had a small swimming beach area with palm trees and I had another swim. Mike I and Chopin spent the afternoon on the beach and only 3 boats at anchor so no stressful anchoring here the say the least. Another favourite place was Rhode Creek where we had Janet and David from St. John NB also cruising, aboard for Canadian Thanksgiving. Our paths finally crossed here. Loved Solomons Island beautiful marina Zahiners Yacht Center with a pool (closed for season) we biked to town and stopped at the famous Tiki bar with Caribbean flair/sandy floors and then biked to Solomon Pier for supper on the wharf over looking another gorgeous sunset. Feels so much like summer at this point. We anchored all alone in Edwards Island Cove now Virginia, absolutely the most gorgeous sunset yet we had to call Carolyn and Bob to share it with them. After 7 weeks into our cruise the ladys will appreciate my pic as I pampered myself to a pedicure/manicure in Hampton harbour our present location and met Gen a delightful young woman who also offered to dye my hair. Thinking about that for tomorrow. This harbour is such a contrast to the quiet anchorage in Edward's cove, in a slip in front of the Crowne Plaza. But that's what makes the journey so adventuresome. Casting off for now The Admiral.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sea Sharp
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter Legend 37.5
Hailing Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada
Crew: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
About:
Mike will be retiring in September 2008 after a long and rewarding career with the civil service in New Brunswick, Canada. I will end my career as President of Service New Brunswick, the "single window" service delivery agency for multi-jurisdictional government services to citizens and businesses. [...]

Preparing for Retirement Trip

Who: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada