SeaSwift is now on hard in Port Charlotte, FL , ..............................

PLEASE VISIT THE "GALLERY" TO VIEW ADDITONAL PICTURES!

25 March 2024 | Bimini back to Marathon
17 March 2024 | Marathon, Boot Key Harbor, FL
12 March 2024 | Marathon, FL
08 March 2024 | Key West
25 February 2024 | MarVista Anchorage
17 February 2024 | Still MarVista
08 February 2024 | MarVista Anchorage
04 February 2024 | Mar Vista, Longboat Key, Florida
27 January 2024 | Bradenton, FL
01 June 2023 | Snead Island Slip
31 May 2023
20 May 2023 | Longboat Key, Florida
07 May 2023 | Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Mexico
06 May 2023 | Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Mexico
29 April 2023 | Isla Providencia, Columbia
17 April 2023 | Isla Providencia, Columbia
06 April 2023 | ARUBA!
04 April 2023 | ARUBA!
01 April 2023 | ARUBA!

The TAT Chronicles

08 April 2021 | Bungalow
Barry Bartholomew | 82, blue skies
Hello Friends,

I was asked recently by a friend in Texas what my ink adornment was all about. Often tattoo selection and very importantly body art location are random acts and choices by the individuals "in the moment" decision. Sometimes tattoo creation and location is very intentional with much forethought and can take years to reach the finished idea and applied work of art. This simple question made me reflect way back...so I wrote out this response as it morphed into a homework project...lol. The reflection and writing took some effort, thought some might find the stories interesting so I decided to add this note to the blog for posterity.

TATS Sequentially.....

The Fouled Anchor tat was started in the early 1960's, the only one for many years. Originally self inscribed at age 13 (cause I was told not to do that, I'd be sorry....lol) with India ink and a sterilized needle wrapped with thread to control the depth and to give the tattoo even color. Location selection on mid outer left bi-cep was entirely do to the fact that I'm right handed....lol Size is 1.25"X2" high. It has been modified and upgraded 3 times over the span of 59 years to date. Never, ever been sorry! Location: left outer bicep'
My definition of a fouled anchor is that it is unable to set and hold the vessel....so one must keep on sailin'... forever. Perhaps only to rest in calm seas, never able to secure the boat to Mother Earth. It reminds me the human body is built for motion.....to stay healthy and out of harms way we must keep movin'. It also signifies to me my attachment to the sea. My astrological sign is Pieces which may influence my ability and passion to enjoy gazing across the open seas for hours, days even weeks. I'm at total peace and joy on the water. I have referred to this little bit of artwork humorously as a "self inflicted scar of youth"...

The Compass Rose on my lower right leg was etched in Honolulu, HA. A compass contains all 360 degree points of direction. The Compass Rose signifies the ability to always find ones way in the world. Most valuable tool when out of site of land.
I have flown to Hawaii many times over the years for work and pleasure. Whenever on the Big Island I would often drive over to Hilo and visit with the cruising sailors anchored in Radio Bay which lies within Hilo Bay. This is often the first stop for most who had crossed the Pacific from the mainland US and Mexico. The joking response to how they found the Island was "Just follow the contrails!"
This Compass Rose was done for me by a local Hawaiian "Old Salt" to celebrate the voyage and as a forever reminder of the adventure and right of passage of sailing from Seattle non-stop to Hawaii in 2011. The protracted voyage of 23 days, over 3400 miles, all out of site of land, wound up being a story in itself....for some other time.
Sailed out of port on a voyage to the southern islands on a ship before the following seas (hear the song "Southern Cross" by CSN&Y in the back ground), Actually on a well found C&C 41' sloop "Big River" with three other capable Captains, between us over 140 years of experience. I was the only one with offshore experience, but very soon all were experienced. We departed just a couple days after I retired in 2011.
I will never forget arriving shortly after midnight in the dark, then sailing back and forth for hours under the shadow of "Diamond Head" to maintain proximity to our chosen landing place. Even though we were anxious to arrive after over 3 weeks at sea, it is never a good idea to enter an unfamiliar port in the dark unless absolutely necessary. We waited until daylight so we could safely sail into port and finally tie up at the Waikiki Yacht Club. After docking in the early morning a couple members brought fresh coffee down to the boat for us. Absolutely best coffee ever!!

Ahhhhhh, now the Dragon story!
One must face the dragon (look'em in the eye, face it head on) to gain the pearl of wisdom...or prize. Of course that can be a dangerous proposition! The many dragons in life can be intimidating and all powerful. For several decades dragon symbols had reminded and prompted me to forge ahead and persevere regardless of the obstacles, to pursue with purpose that which I was seeking. To be relentless and fearless in that pursuit. Using this motivation I have humbly and gratefully had many successes in my life and thankfully only a couple spectacular failures and with a few miss directions mixed in....
A dragon tattoo was a long held private desire and planned for, over many years. I had no idea what exactly would prompt me to follow thru but all details had to be right. The adventure it ultimately commemorates sailing my own vessel of 22 years, the venerable 35 foot Southern Cross Cutter "SeaSwift" so named at launch in 1983, initial voyage from Everett, WA to Bradenton, FL. A major portion of the voyage single handing, from Puget Sound to and thru the Panama Canal and into the Caribbean Sea, up the west side of Central America to Florida and beyond. Thus also opening the gates to even further adventures afar.
The man that helped me finish the design of my unique dragon and then etched it on my left outer calf, is known as the "Dragon Man" within the realm of Florida tattooists. Thankfully he convinced me to upsize the original design as I thought I wanted a much smaller piece of art. I listened.....after all Dragons are his design theme for his own body art and I admired his results. At the time this tattoo was completed he wore 9 different beautifully ornate dragon tattoos from different cultures with future plans for several more pieces. My memorial art piece is fully a prime example of his skill. I chose to it do "old school". Finished in just one color, in the same manner that black and white photography is related to colored photography. Location: left lower leg, outer calf.
My dragon holds a Pearl of Wisdom (aka the prize) in his left claw to be protected and withheld from the unworthy and rewarded to those worthy of the pursuit. Also uniquely, a Sextant is in his right claw.
The Sextant is navigations primary instrument used by mariners to plot their courses in open sea to their many destinations. It has been used for centuries and is still useful today as a backup system for those trained in it's use. Modern sailors use GPS systems to plot their journeys, this done practically with the push of a button.....but electronics do fail, ask anybody with a cell phone. By far today, most mariners have NO clue on how to use a Sextant. I humbly own a fine Sextant, a gift from an old sailor friend who has since passed and have trained in the use of it.
I incorporated the idea of a Sextant into this tattoo kind of tongue in cheek as a tribute to my dragon who thru numerous experiences has proven he looks out for me. >Other stories for other times.< The Sextant inspiration was further driven by noticing an obscure decorative tile on an outlying building in Panama while transiting the Panama Canal. (see picture) The Latin inscription reads:
"FORTITER IN RE, SUAVITER IN MODO"
translates to: "RESOLUTELY IN ACTION, GENTLY IN MANNER" and is a fine recipe for how to move forward thru life in this world.
I have never previously, nor have I since, come across art work in any form that combines a dragon and sextant. If anyone reading this ever happens upon this theme in any form, please take a picture of it and pass it on to me.

Some tattoo work in the world is done without any or at best just fleeting fore thought, a pity because once etched it's in place forever. Removal is possible with a lot of expense, pain and usually with scaring. I do admire much of the tattoo art I see out and about. However I felt compelled by a simple question to put down on paper how I arrived at my choices to show that there are those who do put some thought into their forever decisions.
Cheers,
BB _/)
Comments
Vessel Name: SEASWIFT
Vessel Make/Model: Southern Cross 35 Cutter
Hailing Port: Center Island, WA
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/seaswift/
SEASWIFT's Photos - Main
23 Photos
Created 7 April 2024
18 Photos
Created 7 April 2024
16 Photos
Created 23 March 2024
11 Photos
Created 12 March 2024
18 Photos
Created 8 March 2024
staging for Bahamas departure
18 Photos
Created 4 February 2024
SLIP and re-fit pictures
9 Photos
Created 31 May 2023
photos from Isla Mujeres to Bradenton leg
9 Photos
Created 19 May 2023
13 Photos
Created 7 May 2023
32 Photos
Created 30 March 2023
5 Photos
Created 29 March 2023
45 Photos
Created 23 March 2023
13 Photos
Created 2 March 2023
5 Photos
Created 9 February 2023
1 Photo
Created 7 January 2023
Misc
17 Photos
Created 24 February 2020