Solitude's Mexico Adventure

30 March 2011 | San Diego
26 March 2011 | Ensenada
14 March 2011 | The Trip North Continues
10 March 2011 | Turtle Bay
06 March 2011 | The March winds Begin to Blow
05 March 2011 | The Long Bash Home Continues
04 March 2011 | Bahia Santa Maria
26 February 2011 | The Trip Home Begins
13 February 2011 | Second Time Around
18 January 2011 | La Paz
15 January 2011 | Mazatlan to La Paz
13 January 2011 | Farthesyt North on the Mainland
09 January 2011 | 40 Miles North of San Blas
31 December 2010 | About 20 Miles North of Chacala
18 December 2010 | 25 miles to the north of Banderas Bay
14 December 2010 | 25 Miles North of Banderas Bay
12 December 2010 | A DAy of Solitude
10 December 2010 | First Step North
01 December 2010 | Banderas Bay
24 November 2010 | Leg One Complete - 1458 nm

Las Tres Marietas

12 December 2010 | A DAy of Solitude
Capt Frank
I left Punta de Mita early to avoid strong, northwesterly, afternoon winds out at the islands. It was a good decesion as I had 10 to 12 knots of wind, from the east, all the way out. I had planned to motor all the way but was pleased to be able to sail on a close reach. As I approached the islands I began to see humpback whales everywhere. By the end of the day I tallied fifteen sightings. The closest was about ten feet off the bow where the whale's back had to have gone under the boat as I passed. I anchored up at the middle of the three islands about one hundred feet off the cliffs. These Islands are designated a bird sanctuary and rightly so. There were a number of species there. The most interesting was the Blue Footed Booby. It's hard to describe the color of there feet but a light florescent blue does it best. I wasn't disappointed in the snorkeling. For the first time I could see twenty feet or more. There were plenty of fish, of numerous varieties, to follow and a few eels to stay away from. I spent most of the day in total isolation except for a short time when a tour boat showed up with a hundred people onboard. They didn't stay long and soon I had the Islands all to myself again. At the end of the day I realized that I never turned on my ipod. Unusual for me as music is my constant companion. I spent the day just listening to the ocean lapping up against the cliffs and the birds quietly calling to each other. Perfect solitude for Solitude.

I left Isla Marieta about 4:30 in the afternoon for a night sail up to Jaltemba about forty miles up the coast. I expected it to take most of the night as it is directly into the prevailing winds. This means I will actually have to sail somewhere near eighty miles to get there. More whales as I left the islands, some breaching, and a quick visit from a pod of bottle-nose dolphin. I'll leave this post with an image of the sun setting in a cloudless sky. Winds 12-15 knots, seas calm. At the last moment, just as the sun finally drops over the horizon, a florescent green blip appears. It doesn't get much better than this.
Vessel Name: Solitude
Vessel Make/Model: Golden Gate 30
Hailing Port: Santa Cruz, CA
Crew: Capt Frank Brauch
About: Capt Frank has taught sailing in Santa Cruz, CA for the past ten years. He has also crewed on boats to Hawaii, in Tonga, New Zealand and Mexico.

Solitude Wing-on Wing

Who: Capt Frank Brauch
Port: Santa Cruz, CA