Solitude's Mexico Adventure

30 March 2011 | San Diego
26 March 2011 | Ensenada
14 March 2011 | The Trip North Continues
10 March 2011 | Turtle Bay
06 March 2011 | The March winds Begin to Blow
05 March 2011 | The Long Bash Home Continues
04 March 2011 | Bahia Santa Maria
26 February 2011 | The Trip Home Begins
13 February 2011 | Second Time Around
18 January 2011 | La Paz
15 January 2011 | Mazatlan to La Paz
13 January 2011 | Farthesyt North on the Mainland
09 January 2011 | 40 Miles North of San Blas
31 December 2010 | About 20 Miles North of Chacala
18 December 2010 | 25 miles to the north of Banderas Bay
14 December 2010 | 25 Miles North of Banderas Bay
12 December 2010 | A DAy of Solitude
10 December 2010 | First Step North
01 December 2010 | Banderas Bay
24 November 2010 | Leg One Complete - 1458 nm

Mazatlan

13 January 2011 | Farthesyt North on the Mainland
Captainfrank
The Sail up from Isla Isabel took about thirty hours. I left in the morning around 8:30 motored until about noon when the wind came up enough to sail. I found myself close-hauled for the first time on the trip. At least I was on course which meant that I didn't have to tack back and forth to get up wind. I sailed until about midnight when the wind died off and motored until the sun came up. The wind returned with the sun but this time it was right on the bow. I tacked the last two hours or so into the harbor with the wind building to 25 knots before I reached the protection of the breakwater. It was a another good leg. I saw a number of sea turtles, one whale, a pod of porpoise and , beleive it or not, a hummingbird about 20 miles off the coast. I also had an Arctic Turn come for a visit, landing on the barbecue and staying for about a half an hour.

Mazatlan is a very interesting city. It is home to over a million people and I think I saw most of them in my travels around town. The streets are packed with people walking and cars driving. The anchorage I'm in is souteast of the "Old town" area. Everything one needs is a busride away. There is nothing near the anchorage. The old town area is quite interesting with buildings dating back 150 years, the Central Plaza, the Cathedral and the Mercado Central. I spent a whole day just walking the area. I probably covered 10 miles before I made it back to the boat.

The next day I took the bus across town to the modern area. It looks alot like the areas surrounding downtown San Jose. Lots of modern looking stores offering just about everything one could need. No striop malls but there is one mega mall. This day was a shopping day at Home Depot and Soriana (Mexico's Wall Mart).

The weather was could here with fog in the morning and 60's when the wind blows. I spent my last day with boat projects getting ready for the 200 mile southern crossing of the Sea of Cortez. Next Stop La Paz.
Vessel Name: Solitude
Vessel Make/Model: Golden Gate 30
Hailing Port: Santa Cruz, CA
Crew: Capt Frank Brauch
About: Capt Frank has taught sailing in Santa Cruz, CA for the past ten years. He has also crewed on boats to Hawaii, in Tonga, New Zealand and Mexico.

Solitude Wing-on Wing

Who: Capt Frank Brauch
Port: Santa Cruz, CA