Photo Albums
22 December 2016
3 Photos
23 November 2016
19 Photos

Traveling the Song Line

Vessel Name: Song Line
Vessel Make/Model: Cal 2-30
Hailing Port: Key Largo
Extra: Sea Gypsy for the moment. Temporarily at port in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico.
24 February 2017
23 December 2016
21 December 2016
17 December 2016
16 December 2016
16 December 2016
16 December 2016
16 December 2016
09 December 2016
09 December 2016
05 December 2016
04 December 2016
Recent Blog Posts
24 February 2017

Goodnight, Irene

Every so often, and more frequently lately, I seem to be having mortality reminders. After 64 years of reflection, I have decided there is little or no reason for things that befall us. My current mental construct is that Zeus is living somewhere up there, and from time to time he either gets drunk or [...]

21 February 2017

Wondering Where The Lions Are

OK, so as part of being a marina resident, I get access to the luxury hotel amenities, which include a lap pool. I finally went wandering about the complex yesterday and found the pool.

13 February 2017

Still I remain tied to the mast

Today marks four months living aboard Song Line. Wow. She has become my comfort space and my happy place, as well as home. I thought I'd post a link to my travel map and do some updating.

Amarillo by Morning

17 December 2016
12/17/2016
Amarillo by Morning.

Ah, the multiple processes in the sailor's brain!

As I finally came around the corner at the tip of the Baja Peninsula, I was calculating frantically. Did I have enough fuel to get to Puerto Vallarta if I had to motor the whole way? Let's see, how much fuel was still in the tank and how much was still in the storage cans after 700 miles from Ensenada?

Nope. Not enough. One good day of sailing, though, and I would be all right. One good day. Frantically checking before leaving cell range for a weather forecast. Yes! Two slow days, one great day at the end.

You can probably guess I got two poor days and my great day has been mostly dead calm. It's OK, I've rested, done some chores, and relaxed a bit. I did some laundry, trimmed my beard- it's grown out and the humidity has curled it into corkscrews. Irritating corkscrews.

It's the process, right? Gambling on some decent sailing, or losing a couple of days chasing diesel fuel. There are only a few places where it's easy to get to on a boat, and they don't keep convenience store hours. I don't enter unknown ports in the dark, and Mexican ports want a check in and a check out. Wait for daylight, check in, get fuel, check out. Heck, might as well stay the night. Call it two days for Cabo. I had enough to make Mazatlan - 200 vs. 300 miles. Plus two days. Plus the added 100 miles.

My GPS plotter will happily plot a sailing route between two points, which it then informs you should not be used for navigation purposes. What? It has thrown me a couple of curve balls, and I tend to be conservative, so I've done all right. I have the cruising guides for the area. There's this little group of islands not far from here that are "prison islands" and the authorities get testy if you get within 20 miles. Gunboat testy. GPS has me passing within 5 miles.

Speculation about said islands has provided the day's entertainment. Botany Bay? Devil's Island? SHEILD training facility? Dr. Evil's other secret base? Secret resort for Mexican elite second families? Lots of potential here, enough so that I won't investigate later. Life should hold some mysteries.

The day has been mostly dead calm, with a whisper and a hint of wind teasing me. I actually saw 2 knots briefly on my speed meter. The sea is calm, at least, so there is minimal bobbing. This makes me feel a bit of kinship to my sailing brethren of yore, sans engines. Oh, wait. It was a common practice to send the crew out in long boats and make them tow the ship. And here I am without crew.

1500 nautical miles traversed, and I am becalmed two days out from my destination. Well, here waiting for wind, with half a tank of fuel beats close in to shore with no fuel, waiting for wind. Old sailors and bold sailors, as they say.

Fair winds to you. And to me. If you are reading this, I made it.
Comments
Song Line's Photos - Main
3 Photos
Created 22 December 2016
19 Photos
Created 23 November 2016
2 Photos
Created 21 November 2016

About & Links

Photo Albums
22 December 2016
3 Photos
23 November 2016
19 Photos