Photo Albums
22 December 2016
3 Photos
23 November 2016
19 Photos

Traveling the Song Line

Vessel Name: Song Line
Vessel Make/Model: Cal 2-30
Hailing Port: Key Largo
Extra: Sea Gypsy for the moment. Temporarily at port in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico.
24 February 2017
23 December 2016
21 December 2016
17 December 2016
16 December 2016
16 December 2016
16 December 2016
16 December 2016
09 December 2016
09 December 2016
05 December 2016
04 December 2016
Recent Blog Posts
24 February 2017

Goodnight, Irene

Every so often, and more frequently lately, I seem to be having mortality reminders. After 64 years of reflection, I have decided there is little or no reason for things that befall us. My current mental construct is that Zeus is living somewhere up there, and from time to time he either gets drunk or [...]

21 February 2017

Wondering Where The Lions Are

OK, so as part of being a marina resident, I get access to the luxury hotel amenities, which include a lap pool. I finally went wandering about the complex yesterday and found the pool.

13 February 2017

Still I remain tied to the mast

Today marks four months living aboard Song Line. Wow. She has become my comfort space and my happy place, as well as home. I thought I'd post a link to my travel map and do some updating.

Domino College

23 December 2016
I guess I am official now. I'm going to be here for a few months, so I joined the yacht club. I am now socio #850 and will soon have my photo ID. We'll see how that goes. I'll be "at the club" for the party tomorrow, with dinner and live music. I had this huge flashback to my parents, who belonged to the club at the golf course they lived in. I do get a discount on food and drinks, and now have reciprocal privileges with other clubs for a year. I think I get a flag, too. I can't tell if I've made it or sold my soul...they allowed me to add a family member, so Will, you are now an official member of the Vallarta Yacht Club, in case it shows up in a background check in the future.

As an aside, the club manager told me I now have access to the club's fleet of small sailboats and pangas. He suggested Will and I could borrow a panga and go check out the crocodiles. I am not sure if he was serious. The food is, however, excellent, and reasonable even without my discount. It is a comfortable and friendly place to hang out, which I appreciate. It's been a very long time since I had a "local," and it's a sweet touch of home.

There was the T/Th cards and dominoes group meeting yesterday, and I got introduced and welcomed. The guys asked if I played dominoes, and when I expressed an interest, the told me the buy in was $100, which was greeted by hoots and cries of derision from the card players. There is, of course, no buy in, but I suspect the tuition at Domino College may be paid in drinks. I had chats with a number of members, and it's all looking good.

My plan is to just take it easy until after the first. I love not being cold, but, as my mother often said, "Be careful what you wish for. You may get it." It's going to take a while to adjust to the heat. There is a bus into PV, and I know it is a beautiful town with lots to explore. Time to start working on my expat status. I like exploring new environments, and after seeing about 10 completely unfamiliar birds walking back to Song Line, I hit the internet. Turns out this area is a birders' paradise. One more thing to check out.

Having a very laid-back birthday. Slept in, played some music, cleaned and oiled my wooden flutes. I just finished lunch at the club, where the food is excellent. Just sitting here catching up on correspondence, enjoying the breeze, and watching the boats come and go. I'll head back to Song Line in a few, put some new strings on the mandolin, and get some time in playing. I didn't play much mandolin on passage, but I have a delrin flute that is bulletproof that saw much playing time in the cockpit, which is home out on the water. Playing to the sea, sometimes over the sound of the diesel, has done wonders for my tone and projection. Sort of like having a mouthful of pebbles and orating at the seashore.

If I'm feeling ambitious, I'll crack out the guitar. Movie time later, looks like Treasure of the Sierra Madre. Life is good.

Thanks for all the birthday wishes. Technology has made communication so easy, we forget what a challenge it used to be.

Fair winds, and happy holidays to all.

FWIW, Domino College is a Buffett tune:

Get on back to school
Domino college, back to school
Boneyard full of knowledge
Working vacation in a third world nation
Back to school
They don't rap your knuckles
If you cut the class
They just track you through the jungle boy
Then they kick your ass
It's a different kind of domino theory
They teach you down in Butler town
If you lose you buy the booze
And then the student body all falls down
Get on back to school
Comments
Song Line's Photos - Main
3 Photos
Created 22 December 2016
19 Photos
Created 23 November 2016
2 Photos
Created 21 November 2016

About & Links

Photo Albums
22 December 2016
3 Photos
23 November 2016
19 Photos