Photo Albums
22 December 2016
3 Photos
23 November 2016
19 Photos

Traveling the Song Line

Vessel Name: Song Line
Vessel Make/Model: Cal 2-30
Hailing Port: Key Largo
Extra: Sea Gypsy for the moment. Temporarily at port in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico.
24 February 2017
23 December 2016
21 December 2016
17 December 2016
16 December 2016
16 December 2016
16 December 2016
16 December 2016
09 December 2016
09 December 2016
05 December 2016
04 December 2016
Recent Blog Posts
24 February 2017

Goodnight, Irene

Every so often, and more frequently lately, I seem to be having mortality reminders. After 64 years of reflection, I have decided there is little or no reason for things that befall us. My current mental construct is that Zeus is living somewhere up there, and from time to time he either gets drunk or [...]

21 February 2017

Wondering Where The Lions Are

OK, so as part of being a marina resident, I get access to the luxury hotel amenities, which include a lap pool. I finally went wandering about the complex yesterday and found the pool.

13 February 2017

Still I remain tied to the mast

Today marks four months living aboard Song Line. Wow. She has become my comfort space and my happy place, as well as home. I thought I'd post a link to my travel map and do some updating.

Wondering Where The Lions Are

21 February 2017
OK, so as part of being a marina resident, I get access to the luxury hotel amenities, which include a lap pool. I finally went wandering about the complex yesterday and found the pool.

So, I went lap swimmng today. I was the only one there. Lovely long pool, good temperature, clear water.

Here's the odd part. The pool is adjacent to the tennis courts. On the other side of the tennis courts? The tiger cages. Yes, tiger cages, with two full grown tigers. I don't know why they are there. They are not native to Mexico.

I started writing my obituary while I was swimming. Seemed like a pretty decent place to go, if I get a choice. I decided it should include something like the following: "Sid Simpson, who has been living happily on his boat, Song Line, at Paradise Village in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico, was found in the lap pool at the luxury hotel complex adjacent to the marina. The apparent victim of a heart attack, Mr. Simpson is survived by his four children. Despite the close proximity of two tiger cages, there were no witnesses to indicate that they had been in the pool. There have, however, been rumors that they were seen poolside, wearing sunglasses and sipping amazingly large margaritas. The tigers were unavailable for comment,"

From Bruce Cockburn:

Sun's up, uuh huh, looks okay
The world survives into another day
And I'm thinking about eternity
Some kind of ecstasy got a hold on me
I had another dream about lions at the door
They weren't half as frightening as they were before
But I'm thinking about eternity
Some kind of ecstasy got a hold on me

Comments
Song Line's Photos - Main
3 Photos
Created 22 December 2016
19 Photos
Created 23 November 2016
2 Photos
Created 21 November 2016

About & Links

Photo Albums
22 December 2016
3 Photos
23 November 2016
19 Photos