Sailing With Sora

Terry and Karen circumnavigating the globe currently in Phuket, Thailand. Will remain in the area for a refit and some road trips around Asia for a year or so.

09 December 2010
02 March 2009 | Phuket
02 March 2009 | `Phuket
23 February 2009 | Andaman Sea
19 February 2009 | Bangkok
06 February 2009 | Thailand
24 December 2008 | Langkawi, Malaysia
09 December 2008 | Penang
06 December 2008 | Penang
02 December 2008 | Penang
29 November 2008 | Kuhla Lumpur
25 November 2008 | The Straits of Melaka
15 November 2008 | Johor Bahru
02 November 2008 | Singapore
17 October 2008 | Kumai
10 October 2008 | Borneo (Kalimantan)
09 October 2008 | Borneo
03 October 2008 | Kangean
28 September 2008 | Return to Lovina
28 September 2008 | Cruise to Lombok

Boobie Visit

10 July 2008
cassafrass
The seas have calmed a bit and the sun has even come out to play a couple times. This is a refreshing change to the past few days of salty wetness and waves with some kinda mission to make you spill whatever it is that you just set down. Today we've been rocking a a beam reach with winds 16-20kn. Yay.

Many birds have been taking refuge on sora, most notably this sizable booby perched on our portside cleat. He stayed with us through out most of the evening and even left a little thank you poop on the deck, which shows more couth than the fowl incident the evening before. Some birds landed on the mizzen when I was on the dog watch from 12-3:30am and commenced chirping at one another non-stop. Well, I became annoyed-like,"hey, we're letting you take a break here and the least you could do is not frikken fight while resting your weary birdy bones", but they kept at it in spite of several verbal warnings on my part. So I had to leave the cozy comfort of the cockpit and get my until recently dry tush thrown all about to go shake em off before they woke up papsy. Mission accomplished, I worked my way back to the watchmans nest of two almost dry fold up seat cushions locked in the lee and rubbed my face with an "I'm glad thats over, now I can get back to my REAL watch duties" kind of relief and wouldn't cha know, the fighting aviary brothers had relieved themselves on the line that I used to wiggle the mizzen boom. So, there i sit with poop on my face and poop on my hands exponentially more annoyed than before and I could have sworn that I heard off in the distance what could only be described as a seabird's last laugh.

Pops and Bones fixed the generator enough for it to charge without choking itsself. Whatacupla stand up guys, eh? Dad also jiggled some wires and got the music back on and thank goodness cause I was starting to get the shakes. Cassie without music is an ugly thing to behold. Though I did get a little practice time on my juice harp...

Looks like we'll be there on the morn of Monday the 14th and with Mom flying in on Sunday the 20th, that should be just about enough time for us to clean up our act. And Sora.

When we get there, Eran, Deano, Conrad, and Jesse, some of my favorite Aussies, will all be elsewhere. Wouldn't cha know? Guess that dirty rumour that all the good ones get out aint so far fetched...

So cheers to getting there...preferably without poop on ya Cass
Comments
Vessel Name: Sora
Vessel Make/Model: Tayana 55' Ketch
Hailing Port: Pensacola Beach, FL
Crew: Terry & Karen Kreitzberg
About: Terry Kreitzberg is retired and he and his wife are in the process of a circumnavigation. Not in any hurry, will sail till the wheels come off.

Who are we, and just what do we think we're doing?

Who: Terry & Karen Kreitzberg
Port: Pensacola Beach, FL