Voyages of Southern Cross DQQ

Narrative and photo account of our sailing experiences on Southern Cross

Manta Ray Resort

One of our main goals in traveling through the Yasawa Islands was our desire to swim with some giant manta rays. We had seen some in French Polynesia from a distance, but wanted a closer experience. I had not dove close to large mantas since Puerto Vallarta almost twenty years ago, and I knew it would be exciting to do it again. So our next stop, Manta Ray Island Resort was much anticipated.

The passage was smooth, and the resort was nice and Fijian. Phil and Carole snorkeled near the resort, while I dinghied about a mile up to the passage at high tide to try to catch sight of a giant manta. Some had been sighted the previous week, but none in the last few days. When I arrived I was the only one there. At first I thought there were several sharks swimming in the area as I saw several fins. I then realized the fins were parallel and I knew there was a giant manta ray there. I dove off the dinghy while drifting but the current was strong and I quickly drifted away from where the manta ray was.

I then motored up to the far side of the passage and began drift diving back through the passage again, and this time I was lucky to see a 10 foot wingspan manta slowly glide by within about 15 feet of me. Very impressive! At this point several dive boats arrived and about twenty divers jumped in the water. I no longer saw any manta ray wings, and soon returned to the resort. It turns out I was the only one to see a manta ray that day. Phil and I went hunting for them again the next day, but with no luck.

From the resort we took a trip to a local village named Soso. The villagers were very friendly and living quite happily in this quiet fishing and farming village.



The homes were quite colorful.





The younger children were happily brushing their teeth. The older children were happily at work in their classrooms. It was all quite picturesque.








Comments