Bumbo

Vessel Name: Bumbo
Vessel Make/Model: Ericson 29
Hailing Port: Oyster Cover Marina, South San Francisco
Crew: Captain Cuddles
About: Captain Cuddles - A hacker/maker and an avid builder of anything. Learning a new skill or trade is just another day, so bring it on.
Extra: When this boat was purchased it was a 43 year old hull and not much else.
23 May 2013 | Oyster Cover Marina
23 May 2013 | Oyster Cover Marina
26 April 2013 | Oyster Cover Marina
Recent Blog Posts
23 May 2013 | Oyster Cover Marina

Major projects order

I have learned a valuable lesson from buying everything up front and not planning the exection. Boats have a finite amount of space and putting all of that stuff on a boat you are trying to completely gut creates no workable space. I am going to spend the weekend pulling off everything but the essentials [...]

23 May 2013 | Oyster Cover Marina

Projects, projects and more projects!

So for the last month I have had a lot going on. I had cancer surgery under my right arm which has halted any project until I am completely healed. So instead I have started buying stuff to start some of the various projects I need to get done.

26 April 2013 | Oyster Cover Marina

I bought a boat!

Today is the day, I finally scheduled a ship surveyor and on his advise that the hull was sound I bought my first boat. She is a beautiful stripped out Ericson 29. This will be my first boat, my first floating money pit, and my first major project of this size and scope.

Projects, projects and more projects!

23 May 2013 | Oyster Cover Marina
Cuddles / Clear
So for the last month I have had a lot going on. I had cancer surgery under my right arm which has halted any project until I am completely healed. So instead I have started buying stuff to start some of the various projects I need to get done.
So far I have bought the following:
Deck: Topside Paint with anti-slip additive, I am changing her colors from Hunter Green and White to Red and White)
Rigging: I have purchased all new running rigging and some spare rope I had laying around to fix the other smaller rigs that aren't part of the running rigging.
Fiberglass: I have bought a 60" by 10 Yard roll of fiberglass cloth, 4 containers of poly-resin, epoxy, silicone epoxy/sealant, putty knives, paint brushes. As soon as I'm healed fiberglass is the first project I need to tackle. I have to fix all of the holes that a former owner cut all over the boat. These are safety hazzards and if anything punctures the hull I estimate I'd only have minutes to abandon ship before she is headed strait for the bottom. As it stands now every time I get to my slip I expect to see just the mast poking out of the slip I am in.
Electrical: I have purchased 4 12V Deep Cycle AGM batteries for the motor battery bank (I decided on a full electric boat), I bought all the wire I should need for the boat and even took into account max amerage each line can carry over the distance of the boat and chose the gauge above that for safety. I picked up the fuse boxes, switches, crimping tools, end caps, battery switches, and all the other little odds and ends. Power is the second project I need to tackle. This is a bigger one so it will probably get completed as I add devices to the boat, but I will run the core power before I move onto project number 3.
Head: I picked up an Electro Scan for waste management. I have done a lot of research into the laws regarding this and requiring a holding tank... Here is what I have learend.. but do your own research. The Electro Scan (newer) and Lectra San (older) are Type 1 Marine Sanitation Device (MSD) which are allowed to purge directly overboard after treatment provided you are not in a Federally controlled No Discharge Zone (only the harbors around here and internationally as long as I stay away from shore I should be fine). The Type 3 MSD's are the Black Water holding tanks and those can only be dumped 3+ miles out or at a pump out station (which is usually poorly treated and then dumped right back into the ocean). Installing this will be project number 3
Cabin Interior: I found some cool stanless shelves at ikea to mount, a lot of stainless hardware to use for fold up desks/tables, I have a ton of 12v electronics that work on power bricks (TV, computers, etc.) So I am going to build each section as needed (such as the battery housing and nav desk) I am also going to replace and then fiberglass over the bulkheads that were destroyed. All of these need to be replaced once the mast is down, so the mast down is project number 4 and the bulkheads are project number 5. Then the interior modifications are project number 6.
I picked up a new VHF radio, some more safety gear, some deck shoes, etc. I have spent a lot on a boat I only paid $1500 for (over 8 grand so far) and I will keep spending the money until the boat is exactly as I want it. I have 3 years and I won't keep spending at this rate, but while I'm recovering from surgery what else can I do but plan and pick up the stuff for the boat. I am going to try to put up a blog post with pictures for every project along the way. I want others to be able to learn from what I am doing.
Comments

About & Links