Sailing BOAT

Join us as we follow a dream and start in on the cruising life onboard our 41' Hunter. We will be heading south from our home part of Channel Islands, CA and traveling as far as we can go/where the wind takes us over the next 8 months.

02 April 2018
25 March 2018 | Sayulita
10 March 2018 | San Blas
10 March 2018 | Isla Isabella
09 March 2018 | La Paz
28 February 2018 | Los Frailes/Ensenada de los Muertos
27 February 2018 | Cabo San Lucas, BC
20 February 2018 | Bahia Magdalena
08 February 2018 | 27 41.11'N:114 53.13'W, Bahia de Tortugas, Baja Sur Mexico
06 February 2018 | Punta Tomas
01 February 2018
01 February 2018 | Ensenada
31 January 2018 | Ensenada
26 January 2018 | Fiddler's Cove, San Diego
23 January 2018 | Catalina
23 January 2018 | Two Harbors at Catalina

Isla Isabella to San Blas

10 March 2018 | San Blas
Courtney
Isla Isabella to San Blas

Finally back up to speed in current real time. We made it to San Blas on Wednesday (3/7) with a short 43nm sail from Isla Isabella. Wind in the morning was favorable and a steady 15 kts, which later died to about 1kt in the afternoon. On went the motor for our last few hours into San Blas.

San Blas is GORGEOUS! And everything we hoped it would be. Warm weather, palm tree lined beaches, beautiful anchorage, quiet...did I mention warm? Just bliss.

Here is a video of us arriving to mainland Mexico. I must admit I did a little happy dance once we caught sight of San Blas. Getting to the mainland was a big feat in my opinion and I was psyched to get into the lush tropics of Mexico!



Alright cutting to the good stuff that I am dying to share. Check out the seriously coolest thing ever that greeted us after we decided on a nice little spot to drop anchor



DUDES...WHALE SHARKS!!! So we spotted about three fins in the water, shut off the motor and sailed over to check them out, still not sure what they were. Right before I start the video we realize they are whale sharks and one was curious enough to come over and check us out. OMGEEEE--totally freaking out as you can very well tell from my lovely voice over audio, which I included for the comical effect.

So yeah the whale coming under our boat was cool, like way cool. But this actually might outrank in terms of cool factor of things we have seen.

The video cuts out, as the curiosity of the whale shark got the best of him and he accidentally bumped our hull with his massive head, scared himself and then quickly swam off. I got concerned for him and shut off the video, readying myself to jump in, give him a hug and then help him find his friends.

Guys, let's be honest. Whale sharks are like the fancy versions of sharks; they have polka dots and are basically vegan Sharks. I mean, how LA are they?! Obviously, speaking to me on a very deep spiritual level--we just get each other. We should probably share lavender lemon water and chia seed pudding recipes sometime soon. I'll keep you updated on that.

San Blas, super gorg!







After we settled into our anchorage, and calmed down from over excitement of seeing the whale sharks, cold cervezas were calling us from shore. We took a quick dinghy in to the nearest restaurant to enjoy a few cold ones under the shade of their palm tree huts.

Side note: when pulling up the dinghy, Jay made a graceful dismount and jammed his toe pretty good...I'll come back to this later so just file away as to be continued shortly...



Jay's artsy fartsy video showing the quick walk up from the beach to the restaurant.

I should preface that before leaving for shore, we "cleaned" ourselves up. Which for me, means, finger combing my hair, putting a bathing suit coverup on and dousing myself in perfume to feel fancy and presentable to the outside world.

Well, simply put I am the dumbest human alive and couldn't have made a stupider move in the entirety of my traveling mishaps (which are many) Why did I put on perfume?! Why....?

So we left arid desert to arrive in tropical Mexico, right? You know what tropical Mexico has in addition to warm humid weather and lush palm tree beaches?

Freaking no see ums

Little devils...little specs of pure evil that ruin all good things.

and this moron (me!) Basically decides to soak myself in the beaconing smell of "please come feast on me, no see ums from a 50 mi radius" Seriously, I did the equivalent of all out APB for the most epic feast session ever.

While I am flapping my wings and jumping around in my seat after the first 30 seconds of sitting, Jay is laughing and watching me, sitting total still and not bothered one bit by these little sh*t devils.

After the sweet owner of the restaurant tried everything to increase my comfort (smoking me out with burning coconuts, turning a fan on....) His dear sweet grandmother (god bless her sweet sweet soul) comes over, smiles at me, says nothing and proceeds to SLATHER me in bug spray. Now normally, I would be wary of some rando stranger rubbing me with lotion, but at this point I was in such bug feasting hell, I would have gladly taken off all my clothes and let her dump the entire bottle over my poor body.

Ahhhh relief finally!!

I was able to sit still for another cerveza. Usually beers help with forgetting the itch, right?

We sit for a bit longer, enjoying this lovely beach, insanely delicious guacamole and cold brews, before calling it and heading back to the boat.

The next morning we woke up to two majorly disappointing things:

Jay's dismount yesterday? Resulted in a elephant sized foot, swelling and purplish bruise forming all around his big toe. His foot is really weird looking and sadly banged up pretty good.

Me? My body is 70% covered in medium size welts. I look like I have leprosy and have already gone thru one whole tube of Benadryl to ease the fire burn from the welts.

So in summary, we are in paradise and are quite the pair of gimps. Haha!

Anyway, we are off today to go and explore town and head to a mangrove tour. Hopefully, we wont scare any children with our leprosy and elephantitist of the foot.

--
Last Passage Distance: 43nm

Cumulative Distance to Date: 1,495.5 nm

Days since last donating to Posideon: 4

Items donated: n/a
Comments
Vessel Name: BOAT
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 410
Hailing Port: Channel Islands, CA
Crew: Jay and Courtney
Social:
BOAT's Photos - Main
87 Photos
Created 20 January 2018