Christian Allaire's Sailing Life

COME WITH ME ABOARD S/V CHRISTA FOR A RIDE AROUND THE BLUE PLANET STARTING SEPTEMBER 2007

30 December 2010 | San Francisco Bay Area
28 April 2010 | Naples Florida
08 January 2010 | Naples Florida
10 November 2009 | St Thomas USVI
25 October 2009 | Grenada
18 September 2009
01 July 2009 | St Davids, South Coast of Grenada
16 May 2009
12 May 2009
06 May 2009 | Bequia
29 April 2009 | Bequia
22 April 2009 | Bequia
17 April 2009
12 April 2009 | Marigot Bay St Lucia
10 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
03 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
02 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia

Hang Time

06 February 2008 | Luperon Dominican Republic
Capt Chris
Picture compliments of SV Prudence was taken of me and Christa on that difficult day almost two weeks ago when the rear seal let go. I was paddling over to Prudence to retrieve some transmission oil and paper towels. I posted it because I thought it was a nice picture besides I am running out of good pictures to post.

So Mike from SV Two Lazy Dogs, homeport of Newport RI was asking about the local food action. I eat alot of "free range" chicken. Well free range may be a stretch as the chickens free range around the streets here. I know all those folks who get a little buzz of do gooder when they choose free range at the supermarket. Somehow a mental image develops of happy chickens clucking around the Great Plains. Well I get free range but the mental image is a little less appealing. Anyway I eat alot of chicken. The thing is that in America the organic revolution is in full swing, but in the DR the only revolution is organic. The fruits here are unbelievably good and fresh. I eat the sweetest and most tasty cantalopes and pineapples just about everyday. Now Route 66 has the "American Breakfast" which features all the artery cloggers we Americans enjoy. Eggs, bacon, homefries and coffee. I admit I love it so. Sometimes I'll hang out at Capt Steve's open air restaurant. Steve makes all kinds of great food. My fav being the burrito. Things are done a little differently here. Steve's is built around the cruisers life. For example I bring my laundry to Steve's and his Dominican wife, Annie does it in a day. They also feature showers, a small pool and internet. You could spend a whole day at Steve's and many do. I also discovered just yesterday that I love the Dominican grown coffee bean and I am a bit of a coffee snob. Dam it I like good coffee. So tomorrow I'm going to brew another pot for taste test purposes to ensure that I really do like it. If that is the case I will buy a substantial amount. Get this, a bag of 12 OZ bean is 77 pesos, that is less than two bucks. Move over Starbucks. I love the money savings as I am now on a fixed income.

On to the weather. It's all over the place and frankly I am tired of watching all the weather models and forecasts. The weather picture has changed and in fact the previously forecasted calmer conditions keep moving further away. So I don't know when I will leave Luperon, but I think I am ready to roll at a moments notice. I spoke with another cruiser today and he pointed out that I have jumped the gun in leaving on several occasions and not to make that mistake again. He is correct. With the current weather picture many things are in play and the forecast changes everyday. This is not good even if the forecast improves. What I need is a good forecast that remains that way for at least 3 days in a row. This way I know the forecasters have a handle on the situation. So hang time baby!

Capt Chris
Comments
Vessel Name: Christa
Vessel Make/Model: 1975 Westsail 32
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Christian Allaire
About: Single Handed Sailor
Extra:
I left Newport Rhode Island in September of 2007 aboard Christa, my Westsail32 bound for the worlds oceans. I spent the months of Sep-Dec 2007 sailing down the US east coast. In December of 2007 I made the jump to the Bahamas. February 2008 found me in Luperon Dominican Republic. After [...]

My Mug

Who: Christian Allaire
Port: San Francisco