Christian Allaire's Sailing Life

COME WITH ME ABOARD S/V CHRISTA FOR A RIDE AROUND THE BLUE PLANET STARTING SEPTEMBER 2007

30 December 2010 | San Francisco Bay Area
28 April 2010 | Naples Florida
08 January 2010 | Naples Florida
10 November 2009 | St Thomas USVI
25 October 2009 | Grenada
18 September 2009
01 July 2009 | St Davids, South Coast of Grenada
16 May 2009
12 May 2009
06 May 2009 | Bequia
29 April 2009 | Bequia
22 April 2009 | Bequia
17 April 2009
12 April 2009 | Marigot Bay St Lucia
10 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
03 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
02 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia

Inland Puerto Rico

09 March 2008 | Boqeron Puerto Rico
Capt Chris
Well I am back from the big adventure inland with my friend Kim. The picture was taken not so far from the Hacienda Junita, which is the hotel we stayed in. The beauty of the interior is some of the best geography I have ever seen. Lush and tropical. Our hotel had been a coffee plantation back in the day. It is situated along a ridge that had panoramic views of several valley's below. Puerto Rico is known to attract bird watchers and for obvious reasons as we viewed all kinds of cool and friendly birds. They would just fly right up to the dinner table and land on the chair and check things out.

I would say one of the highlights was the restaurant. It sat on the open deck with all the great views and great food. We met a very unique couple from outside Boston who were full of energy and good cheer. We ended up dining with them and another couple. So the next day, after a great sleep among the sounds of the jungle we had coffee and breakfast and then lit out for a hike to the waterfall that you see in the picture. Now Kim is no slouch in the adventure department. Among other things she was a river guide along the Colorado River that sweeps into Grand Canyon and she just finished up a marathon a week or two ago. So laziness was not on the agenda. Although she did snap this picture of me when I was contemplating being lazy, but never attaining full slug status. We had such a great time and I am grateful to Kim for showing me around some of the island. We ended the day with a three hour drive through the winding mountain roads back to Boqeron. Had some dinner in town before Kim started another three hour drive back to San Juan. She has to be back to work. Work. Yikes!

So the weather pattern looks to be easing and myself, Snark and Iresea plan on departing late tonight or early tomorrow morning. Ottis and Jenny from Independence rolled early this morning. I spoke with them on the VHF while they rounded Cabo Rojo. They reported some long swells but light winds. I hope to encounter the same conditions when I roll. I will strive for Salinas, about half way down the south coast, but may stop elsewhere if the going gets tough or I get to tired. Gotta jam! More later.

Capt Chris
Comments
Vessel Name: Christa
Vessel Make/Model: 1975 Westsail 32
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Christian Allaire
About: Single Handed Sailor
Extra:
I left Newport Rhode Island in September of 2007 aboard Christa, my Westsail32 bound for the worlds oceans. I spent the months of Sep-Dec 2007 sailing down the US east coast. In December of 2007 I made the jump to the Bahamas. February 2008 found me in Luperon Dominican Republic. After [...]

My Mug

Who: Christian Allaire
Port: San Francisco