Christian Allaire's Sailing Life

COME WITH ME ABOARD S/V CHRISTA FOR A RIDE AROUND THE BLUE PLANET STARTING SEPTEMBER 2007

30 December 2010 | San Francisco Bay Area
28 April 2010 | Naples Florida
08 January 2010 | Naples Florida
10 November 2009 | St Thomas USVI
25 October 2009 | Grenada
18 September 2009
01 July 2009 | St Davids, South Coast of Grenada
16 May 2009
12 May 2009
06 May 2009 | Bequia
29 April 2009 | Bequia
22 April 2009 | Bequia
17 April 2009
12 April 2009 | Marigot Bay St Lucia
10 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
03 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
02 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia

Williamstown Wrap Up

04 June 2008 | Williamstown MA
Capt Chris, rain and brisk for June
Today is my last day here in the Berkshires. First off I wanted to briefly report on my trip last weekend. My buddy John and I (pictured above) took a drive to Swansboro Vermont. Swansboro, which is located on the northern end of Lake Champlain about 3 miles south of the Canadian Border. Beautiful. However the weather was not; dreadful amounts of rain fell upon the northeast. We stayed in a house right on the lake which is owned by a mutual friends family. On the way up to Swansboro we made a stop in Burlington VT and had dinner with friends Abbie and Chris who are serious outdoor types. Chris works for the snowshoeing company Tubbs. Forget what Abbie is doing today, but safe to say she has no troubles baiting her own hook. The rain impacted the amount of touring around Burlington and Swansboro. Pretty much a mello weekend chock full of lounging and reading. We did get a brief respite from the rain and we were able to fit in a hike.

Now, my time in the Williamstown/North Adams section of Mass has been really awesome. First it is just great to have had the chance to spend so much time with Amy, Mike, John and Emily. But via these friends I've met the extended network of friends and family. A big part of the enjoyment is the beauty that surrounds the area, plus my sleeping arrangements are top notch. I could not be more appreciative that Amy, Mike, John and Emily put up with my drifter ways for the past days.

On 5/27/08 I reported that I had given yoga a shot. Well I've managed to do yoga just about everyday for at least an hour and a half and today is a double header. Further more Amy has been pumping me full of sushi, gogi berries and the veggie drinks via the steroid like blender. After nearly two weeks of this exercise I feel great. In fact I may be in the best physical condition ever. I'm turning into a machine. So I certainly hope I am able to continue the yoga habit after returning to Puerto Rico in a couple of weeks.

A great visit! But tomorrow I head for the Albany airport and take a jet west landing in Oakland California late afternoon. Then I'll find the BART station, take the subway to San Francisco's financial district and link up with Malcolm. I'll be free loading on his couch for a few days. Can't wait to get back out to California where it all began. I bought Christa in Vallejo CA in August of 1998 lived aboard her throughout the Bay until my transfer to Cape Cod in July 2005. Really jacked about my re- assimilation!


Capt Chris
Comments
Vessel Name: Christa
Vessel Make/Model: 1975 Westsail 32
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Christian Allaire
About: Single Handed Sailor
Extra:
I left Newport Rhode Island in September of 2007 aboard Christa, my Westsail32 bound for the worlds oceans. I spent the months of Sep-Dec 2007 sailing down the US east coast. In December of 2007 I made the jump to the Bahamas. February 2008 found me in Luperon Dominican Republic. After [...]

My Mug

Who: Christian Allaire
Port: San Francisco