Christian Allaire's Sailing Life

COME WITH ME ABOARD S/V CHRISTA FOR A RIDE AROUND THE BLUE PLANET STARTING SEPTEMBER 2007

30 December 2010 | San Francisco Bay Area
28 April 2010 | Naples Florida
08 January 2010 | Naples Florida
10 November 2009 | St Thomas USVI
25 October 2009 | Grenada
18 September 2009
01 July 2009 | St Davids, South Coast of Grenada
16 May 2009
12 May 2009
06 May 2009 | Bequia
29 April 2009 | Bequia
22 April 2009 | Bequia
17 April 2009
12 April 2009 | Marigot Bay St Lucia
10 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
03 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
02 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia

Been Gone

10 July 2008 | Salinas Puerto Rico
Capt Chris, weather is perfect
I pulled anchor a couple of days ago and headed about 6 miles east into the Jobos mangrove system. Might as well been another planet. It really felt isolated even though it was still close to Salinas.

But first thing. I snapped this shot this morning from the top of the mast. I was removing my running backstays to stow which is part of the hurricane prep. The shot is looking south toward the entrance of Salinas Harbor. You can just make out some of the cays that line the south shore of Puerto Rico. Just beautiful.

So anyway it was great to break the pattern of sitting in Salinas. The brush with Bertha has spurred me to expedite the hurricane plan. I anchored for two nights in the jobos mangrove system and spend one entire morning meandering through out the creeks. I found multiple good spots to tuck into for a blow. But my first impression was there is not as much room to lash in multiple boats as I had expected. What it really boils down to is what a person's definition of a bullet proof hole is. If a sailor believes ramming the bow into the mangroves and then streaming anchors off the stern is adequate then I would say there is plenty of room. But bow in is not ideal for me. I don't have a good way to attach anchor rodes to the stern of Christa and in fact most people don't. An alternative is to back into the mangroves which makes the handling of ground tackle much easier. But then you run a greater risk of rudder damage. Plus the weight aft is much greater and you then risk being stuck in the mud after the storm passes. So the preferred method is to center the boat in the creek and lash off to both sides. There are spots to do this in the Jobos but space is limited. Also you must have a large stock of lines to lash with. So I spent a portion of the passed two days doing line inventory and thinking things through. One must be prepared to be pinned down in the mangroves for a longtime. One must have an evacuation plan in case a Katrina style blow is going to strike. Another issues is one you'd never really think about. Here it is. So many leaves blow off the mangroves that they will clog up the deck drains which can lead to flooding of the cabin. How to prevent this? I'm working on it. So that's that for now!

Capt Chris
Comments
Vessel Name: Christa
Vessel Make/Model: 1975 Westsail 32
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Christian Allaire
About: Single Handed Sailor
Extra:
I left Newport Rhode Island in September of 2007 aboard Christa, my Westsail32 bound for the worlds oceans. I spent the months of Sep-Dec 2007 sailing down the US east coast. In December of 2007 I made the jump to the Bahamas. February 2008 found me in Luperon Dominican Republic. After [...]

My Mug

Who: Christian Allaire
Port: San Francisco