Christian Allaire's Sailing Life

COME WITH ME ABOARD S/V CHRISTA FOR A RIDE AROUND THE BLUE PLANET STARTING SEPTEMBER 2007

30 December 2010 | San Francisco Bay Area
28 April 2010 | Naples Florida
08 January 2010 | Naples Florida
10 November 2009 | St Thomas USVI
25 October 2009 | Grenada
18 September 2009
01 July 2009 | St Davids, South Coast of Grenada
16 May 2009
12 May 2009
06 May 2009 | Bequia
29 April 2009 | Bequia
22 April 2009 | Bequia
17 April 2009
12 April 2009 | Marigot Bay St Lucia
10 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
03 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
02 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia

A Report on the Delta Set

13 July 2008 | Salinas Puerto Rico
Capt Chris, sunny and hot
Here is a shot of the anchor with the new 3/8 stainless swivel. After all my issues with dragging while in the Bahamas and then the subsequent loss of the CQR and chain in the Dominican Republic, I finally am back to full anchoring strength.

I used the Delta several times over the pasted week or so while exploring the local area. I was amazed at how quickly it set compared to the CQR. The manufacture claims it will set itself within two shank lengths. I would say in the Salinas mud it set right where it landed on the bottom. The Delta is self-righting and all the weight of the anchor is positioned well forward which is why it sets straight away. Another advantage over the CQR is it will launch and recover without me having to manhandle it off and on the bow rollers. This advantage now makes it possible for me to raise and lower via remote switch from the cockpit. An upgrade I am working on while here in Salinas.

Sorry to bore all you with the technical and all, but for you arm chair sailors, you have no idea of how emotionally attached you get to an anchor when it keeps you safe gust after gust and day after day. Nothing worse than losing confidence in your anchor.

My choice of the Delta Set was not without research and interviews of other cruisers. As I have noted before anchors and anchoring is a very controversial topic amongst seaman. I failed to hear a bad report from anyone who had been using the Delta Set. But I relied mostly on a great, in depth study of voyaging anchors done by Blue Water Sailing magazine that I saved from several years back. It is scientific in nature and is to long to really repeat. But the gist is that there is really no right anchor. All anchors have strengths and weaknesses in certain types of bottoms and environmental conditions. This is why most cruisers carry three to four different type of anchors. But the Delta Set, CQR and Bruce anchors work in the vast majority of situations and so this is why they remain the most popular.

Capt Chris
Comments
Vessel Name: Christa
Vessel Make/Model: 1975 Westsail 32
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Christian Allaire
About: Single Handed Sailor
Extra:
I left Newport Rhode Island in September of 2007 aboard Christa, my Westsail32 bound for the worlds oceans. I spent the months of Sep-Dec 2007 sailing down the US east coast. In December of 2007 I made the jump to the Bahamas. February 2008 found me in Luperon Dominican Republic. After [...]

My Mug

Who: Christian Allaire
Port: San Francisco