Christian Allaire's Sailing Life

COME WITH ME ABOARD S/V CHRISTA FOR A RIDE AROUND THE BLUE PLANET STARTING SEPTEMBER 2007

30 December 2010 | San Francisco Bay Area
28 April 2010 | Naples Florida
08 January 2010 | Naples Florida
10 November 2009 | St Thomas USVI
25 October 2009 | Grenada
18 September 2009
01 July 2009 | St Davids, South Coast of Grenada
16 May 2009
12 May 2009
06 May 2009 | Bequia
29 April 2009 | Bequia
22 April 2009 | Bequia
17 April 2009
12 April 2009 | Marigot Bay St Lucia
10 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
03 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
02 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia

Update

06 October 2008 | Salinas Puerto Rico
Capt Chris, very very nice weather today
Sorry for the lapse in time since my last post. I have been busy with my new floorboards for the dingy. View them above. So I am very happy to have this project complete as it has been on the work list for quite sometime. To have the boards replaced by Achilles would have cost more than $500 boat dollars. Gulp. This is the nature of boats. But a local fella, Steve took my old boards and fashioned up some new ones out of marine grade plywood. I then spent the week laying down epoxy and then painting. I also had to order the new plastic strips that connect the board system. I know the color really is kind of ugly, but I used existing paint that I had aboard plus the uglier the less chance of it being stolen. Or so goes the theory.

So I have been quite shocked over my last blog regarding the little puppy that popped up on the radar. What is funny is I never mentioned nor ever entertained actually adopting the little critter. Quite the buzz in the comments section. No having a dog aboard would cramp me a little to much, especially a puppy. But sometime in future when I get back ashore I certainly will be gathering up some pets. But let it be known that the little pup pictured has been adopted.

So over the past week I have really been excited about the change in weather. The nights have been cooler and the days clearer and more crisp. A sure sign that the winter is around the corner and the hurricane season is ending. However, much to my dismay, some active weather is south and east of the Cape Verde Islands. Some of the computer models develop these areas of low pressure systems into hurricanes. The experts say that Cape Verde type storms this late in the year are unusual. In fact only 4 hurricanes have hit the Lesser Antilles since 1851 during the month of October. But the ocean is plenty warm even though the water is starting to cool. So lets hope that wind shear or whatever destroys these systems before they even develop.

Awhile ago Brian Kos asked what the plan is in terms of rolling out of Salinas. The current plan is to make the call somewhere around October 15th. If the tropics look calm and nothing seems to be spinning up I'll head out of Salinas to the Spanish Virgin Islands. I then would hang out in Culebra for most of the month of November and then be in St. Thomas and St. John area around December 1st. But all plans are subject to change as always. One thing is for sure, I am ready to get moving!

Capt Chris
Comments
Vessel Name: Christa
Vessel Make/Model: 1975 Westsail 32
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Christian Allaire
About: Single Handed Sailor
Extra:
I left Newport Rhode Island in September of 2007 aboard Christa, my Westsail32 bound for the worlds oceans. I spent the months of Sep-Dec 2007 sailing down the US east coast. In December of 2007 I made the jump to the Bahamas. February 2008 found me in Luperon Dominican Republic. After [...]

My Mug

Who: Christian Allaire
Port: San Francisco