Our Family Sailing Adventure

The Broom family takes a break from the rat race aboard SV Dilly Dally.

18 July 2012 | Spirit Lake Marina, Duluth, MN
18 July 2012 | Spirit Lake Marina, Duluth, MN
18 July 2012 | Spirit Lake Marina, Duluth, MN
06 July 2012 | Erie Canal
04 July 2012 | Richfield, MN
04 July 2012 | Richfield, MN
03 July 2012 | I-94
02 July 2012 | I-90 going West
01 July 2012 | Castleton-on-Hudson, NY
01 July 2012 | Castleton-on-Hudson, NY
30 June 2012 | Castleton-on-Hudson, NY
29 June 2012
29 June 2012 | Castleton-on-Hudson, NY
29 June 2012 | Castleton-on-Hudson
26 June 2012 | The Big Apple
25 June 2012 | 25 miles from Sandy Hook
24 June 2012 | The Ocean
23 June 2012 | Big Blue
18 June 2012 | Nassau, Bahamas

The moment finally came

01 July 2012 | Castleton-on-Hudson, NY
Lisa
So-we finally had to face the moment of truth. We were all looking forward to going home. This adventure always had an ending date. When something like that exists, you simply come to expect it and move toward it. Well, I have to say I was completely fine with the whole deal until about 2 minutes before I walked off the boat. Everyone was outside and I was grabbing the last few pillows to toss in the truck. Suddenly, I just started to bawl. In fact, just reliving this is making my eyes water. I didn't want to go, I was suddenly unprepared for this all to end. The whole trip was rushing through my mind. The many, many good times, the people, the extraordinary places, plus the bad times, the boredom, the fights and frustration of living so close for 12 months. I didn't care - I just wanted to go back. I tried to compose myself and took a long look around. Then I walked off Dilly Dally and joined my family. Oh great - Wyatt was bawling too. Then Dale Starts sniffing. I think Madeline maintained control the best! Part of me was upset that we were all separating. I had always envisioned us sailing in to Duluth to a bit of fanfare - all together, waving from the bow. Ok, so that part of the dream isn't going to work out. We left in stages, we return in stages. I guess that's as it should be.
We took pictures, hugged a lot and finally we climbed in the truck and set off. Dale, Lora, Wayne and Jerry went back aboard to start moving Dilly Dally home.

The adventure has not ended - it has just started a new phase.
Comments
Vessel Name: Dilly Dally
Vessel Make/Model: Morgan 462
Hailing Port: Ham Lake, MN
Crew: Dale, Lisa, Madeline and Wyatt

Follow our year long journey starting July 2011 from the Great Lakes to the East Coast and Caribbean

Who: Dale, Lisa, Madeline and Wyatt
Port: Ham Lake, MN