Freebirdie's Sailin' Blog

22 November 2011 | Seattle
01 August 2011 | Santa Maria di Leuca
03 July 2011 | Greece
15 June 2011 | Gulf of Corinth
05 June 2011 | Athens
28 May 2011 | Poros Greece
25 April 2011 | Symi Island
13 April 2011 | Naxos, Greece
20 February 2011 | Istanbul, Turkey
30 January 2011 | Ephesus
28 January 2011 | Marmaris
16 January 2011 | Selcuk, Turkey
31 December 2010 | Marmaris
24 October 2010 | Cappadocia, Turkey
16 September 2010 | Marmaris Turkey
26 August 2010 | Fethiye, Turkey
19 August 2010 | Marmaris
03 August 2010 | Larnaca Cyprus
01 August 2010 | Mediterranean Sea
30 July 2010 | Ashkelon Marina

What a day

12 January 2010 | Andaman Islands
Dave and Judy
What a day! We sailed to a small island this morning. The hook went down and I jumped in the water to check the anchor.....Yep!....I finally did it! I jumped in the water with my new $7000.00 hearing aids stuck in my ears. I was about 20 feet down when I heard a squak. Shit! I shot to the surface and swam frantically to the swim step...charging into the galley dripping wet, I dropped them into a glass of fresh water and shook them up. The batteries were removed and I sprayed/flushed them with electronic contact cleaner. After a small prayer they were laid in the sun to heal/dry. Meanwhile we had some of the best snorkeling we've seen in years. There was even a turtle to round it all out. After a couple of hours in the water we were hungry. Judy served lunch and the hearing aids seem to have been miraculously cured. They are working fine as I write this. We were just kicking back for an after lunch rest when there was a loud knocking on the boat. We jumped up to find an official looking bloke yelling at us. It didn't take my hearing aids to tell he was pretty upset. He says: "You have broken the law. I must come aboard and file a report. You are anchored in a restricted area and you must go to court....Rp$25,000...jail....you won't be leaving here soon" ... (you get the idea) Whoa bucko! We must be able to find a compromise....How bout a nice donation to the local village? ...:NO I must file a report. You must call your friends on that other boat and tell them to stop.... I am coming to see them after I'm finished with you" (Southern Cross was trying to escape and upping anchor) I call them with the good news while he looks on..... After considerable loud verbal sparring we agree that a donation to the village of Rp$15000 will get us off the hook. I open my wallet....there's only 8,000 in there.... I put it in his hand and say for both boats.... He agrees and finally leaves yelling the whole time for us to leave NOW! Okay, Okay! I start the motor we up anchor and head down the channel. Nice hospitality! We later find out that many islands are off limits...Oops! (nice snorkeling though) Upon arrival at the next anchorage I discover that the fishing line is still out..... Wrapped around the prop........There is a beautiful sunset..the water is like a mill pond...the air is warm and soft.....The perfect end to an ...interesting...day.
Comments
Vessel Name: Freebird
Vessel Make/Model: Grainger MC420 Catamaran
Hailing Port: Seattle
Crew: Dave and Judy Howell
About:
Dave started building Freebird in 1995 in a plastic shed on Camano Island, NW USA and launched her in April of 2001. He retired from the Fire Department in 1999 after 28 years of service. Judy Retired from dentistry in 1995 after 27 years. [...]
Freebird's Photos - Main
No items in this gallery.