In Your Dreams

12 February 2017
28 January 2017
06 January 2017
30 August 2016
17 August 2016
03 August 2016
02 May 2016
06 April 2016
13 March 2016
13 October 2014 | Simi Valley, California
18 September 2014 | Astoria, OR
17 September 2014 | lying Astoria, Oregon
14 August 2014 | Fifer Bay, BC, Canadadia
18 July 2014
13 July 2014 | North Sandy Cove, Glacier Bay
03 July 2014 | Inian Cove
03 July 2014 | Inian Cove
26 June 2014 | Whale Bay
18 June 2014
19 April 2014

That was cool

03 July 2014 | Inian Cove
CapnJake
If you can imagine riding down the road to the supermarket on your folding bike, pedaling away with a very large backpack strapped to your back, on your way to get final provisions for your departure -- when up ahead your trusty old Jeep of 15 years pulls out of the supermarket parking lot ahead of you. How would that feel exactly? Confusing? Exciting? With perhaps a sense of finality of change? Well, that's what happened to me just before departing Seward. It was an odd feeling to say the least.

Now, a week or so later after a nice reach out of Hitchinbrook on the way to Yakutat, the wind dies off with the sunset. So on comes the engine, roll goes the headsail, and away we go doing that most vile of things to do on a sailboat -- the scourge of sailors everywhere -- I'm having to pay for fuel. Shiver me timbers. While watching the 2 1/2 hour sunset behind me with my back up on the dodger, trying to figure out how to finish sewing my 1/3 finished bimini and attach it around my solar panels, I hear and see a soft blow of my port stern to my right. No spray mind you, soft and quiet, almost stealthy, like a small porpoise coming to play before they get to the bow wave. Ten feet off my port stern, I look and see a pair of blowholes. How odd, my slightly weary mind slowly grinds away, pondering. Then the rest of the bulk rises and curves with such grace and fluidity it is a beauty to behold. And I'm stunned -- lingering in the moment which had already ended. Replaying the magic.

If seeing my old Jeep drive away with someone else behind the wheel was an odd feeling, then seeing a 15 ton, 35 foot minke whale headed right for my rudder is enough to put odd feelings in a whole new category. Sheer terror mixed with a primal thrill, with just a dash of camaraderie? Now, I don't know how he was feeling (was it a he?-- I didn't ask. Boundaries people. Boundaries.). Maybe he was eying my gal's buttock lines. Maybe I caught him sleeping. Or maybe, like many minkes he was just curious. But in those few seconds, when a denizen of the deep comes out of the dark twilight seas to say hello, you've got to admit -- that was cool. Which coincidentally is what I've been saying every 15 minutes or so, for the past week.
Comments
Vessel Name: In Your Dreams
Vessel Make/Model: Tayana 48
Hailing Port: Seward, Alaska
Crew: Capn Jake
About: Ship callsign: WDF2847. HAM callsign: KL0L. Tender: Col. Vaughan
Extra: Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure, than to take rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in the gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat. -- Theodore Roosevelt, 1899
In Your Dreams's Photos - Main
23 Photos
Created 13 March 2016
18 Photos
Created 18 September 2014
38 Photos
Created 18 July 2014
4 Photos
Created 23 February 2014
3 Photos
Created 4 February 2014
Hong Kong - Kaohsiung - Apra Harbor - Port Allen - Honolulu - Nawilliwilli - Hanalei Bay - Ha'ena - Seward
26 Photos
Created 4 November 2013