S/V Journey

We have our new boat Check us out at our new blog: http://sv-journey.blogspot.com/p/home.html

09 August 2011
16 March 2011
03 September 2010 | Jordan Creek NC
07 May 2010 | a long time ago, far, far away....
22 April 2010
15 April 2010
14 April 2010 | can't say where
09 April 2010
12 February 2010 | a tutorial. Learn from it....
01 February 2010 | a montage of our cruise
01 February 2010
30 January 2010
30 January 2010 | Ft. George River, Fl.
30 January 2010 | Pete/Pokey/Al/Martha (photo)
24 January 2010 | with too much time on my hands
22 January 2010 | St. Augustine, Fl
22 January 2010 | St. Augustine, FL
17 January 2010 | gulf stream
15 January 2010 | Exumas

Islander Dough boat

14 December 2009 | Warderick Wells, Exuma
It was 6:45 AM, and I wasn't in the mood for this. We were at Exuma Park, going through the morning rituals to slip the mooring and get underway to Staniel Cay. Then I saw it, the bread dough that I had left rising on the cabintop the night before. It was no longer rising quietly in it's plastic bag. It had busted forth all over the top of the cabin. I looked further and saw that the dough oozed over the starboard side and down to the deck, where it mingled ever so slightly with the jib sheet and came to rest against the genoa track. One of the reasons I let my dough rise in a plastic bag is to keep from getting gooey dough all over me and my bowls. I have limited water for cleanup, and this method has been working fine. It doesn't work so well when I forget to place the zipper part of the bag up. Left in an inverted position the yeast and dough expanded against the seam and it gave way. At least it didn't harden. And so I found myself using a spatula to lift and place the mess back into the bag before breakfast. Al started helping, and as we tried to get the dough to cooperate with where we tried to put it, we got the giggles. Bread would have to wait a day longer, but the fish on the banks were in for a treat later in the day. I lowered the bucket over the side and sluiced the deck with seawater to rinse of the last bits, and we were finally able to get underway for Staniel cay.
Comments
Vessel Name: Journey
Vessel Make/Model: 1977 Islander 28 which has been sold,1/28/10 Current Journey: 1989 Morgan Classic 41
Hailing Port: Wendell, NC
Crew: Martha and Al
About: We bought Journey an 2004, and have been updating her, sailing her, and loving her ever since. UPDATE!! WE SOLD JOURNEY ON JAN.28,2010. Fast forward to Fall,2010. Our new Journey is a Morgan Classic 41.
Extra:

Follow the Journey

Who: Martha and Al
Port: Wendell, NC