S/V Journey

We have our new boat Check us out at our new blog: http://sv-journey.blogspot.com/p/home.html

09 August 2011
16 March 2011
03 September 2010 | Jordan Creek NC
07 May 2010 | a long time ago, far, far away....
22 April 2010
15 April 2010
14 April 2010 | can't say where
09 April 2010
12 February 2010 | a tutorial. Learn from it....
01 February 2010 | a montage of our cruise
01 February 2010
30 January 2010
30 January 2010 | Ft. George River, Fl.
30 January 2010 | Pete/Pokey/Al/Martha (photo)
24 January 2010 | with too much time on my hands
22 January 2010 | St. Augustine, Fl
22 January 2010 | St. Augustine, FL
17 January 2010 | gulf stream
15 January 2010 | Exumas

Maintain dignity at all times

06 June 2009
Martha
Grace under fire...NOT!
For several years, Al and I led a trip of divers to Key Largo for Lobsterpalooza. In the mornings, we were terrorizing the lobsters on the reefs, and in the afternoon, it was kick-back time.
In 2000, we started trailering the Hobie behind us. We moored it for the week and sailed every afternoon. Bliss! One day, I took it out myself, since Al didn't want to go. Now I'd like to be able to say that this was the first year we had her, but no, this was 2005, after I'd had plenty of experience with the boat.
I was heading back into the beach after a gloriously long sail, I was thirsty, tired, and the wind had kicked up quite a bit. I probably should have factored that into what happened next.... I noticed the beach was full of kids (some of them MY precious grandchildren) and put some port into the helm.
My idea was to sail in to the small area bordered by 2 docks and swing around 180 degrees into the wind and stop it on the mooring, jump off, and tie up in the waist high water. Piece of cake. Been there, done that, had the t-shirt.
Then I saw her. A lady was sleeping in the water, in a lounge chair, right in the path I was planning on using. Did I mention the wind had gotten up? I was flying, right down on her, and I needed to make a course correction faster than my brain functions. I pulled the boat HARD to port, missed her by about 3 feet.
Now I was on the correct approach to slam headfirst into the dock, I mean that sucker was right there! I could've reached forward and touched it! I kicked the rudders up, let fly the main and jib, and tumbled off the back. Well, tried to, my feet got caught in the steering rods and then the mainsheet, and I nose-dived into the water. Came up sputtering and sore, and much to my delight, the raunchous laughter of all our divers, who had had a front row seat to the afternoon's entertainment!
Grandma, the great sailor, now just a memory, as my grandkids gawked at the spectacle. I'm still trying to redeem myself, but gosh, it was a great sail up to that point.
Comments
Vessel Name: Journey
Vessel Make/Model: 1977 Islander 28 which has been sold,1/28/10 Current Journey: 1989 Morgan Classic 41
Hailing Port: Wendell, NC
Crew: Martha and Al
About: We bought Journey an 2004, and have been updating her, sailing her, and loving her ever since. UPDATE!! WE SOLD JOURNEY ON JAN.28,2010. Fast forward to Fall,2010. Our new Journey is a Morgan Classic 41.
Extra:

Follow the Journey

Who: Martha and Al
Port: Wendell, NC