Silk Road by the Sea

02 February 2011 | Taipei, Taiwan
06 January 2011 | Taiwan
26 December 2010 | Palau
13 December 2010 | Ulong Island
07 December 2010 | Koror, Palau
06 April 2010 | Koror, Palau
22 March 2010 | Royal Belau Yacht Club
07 January 2010 | Kansas City, MO USA
22 December 2009 | Rockford, IL USA
04 December 2009 | Koror, Palau
01 December 2009 | Palau
29 November 2009 | Still On the way to Palau
25 November 2009 | On the way to Palau
25 November 2009 | On the way to Palau
16 November 2009 | On the way to Palau
13 November 2009 | PNG
08 November 2009 | underway
06 November 2009
29 October 2009
18 October 2009 | Santo Vanuatu

Teahupoo (Choopu)

23 August 2008 | Tahiti Iti The fattest wave in the world!
Before we left Tahiti, we planned to sail down island so the kids could see Teahupoo. We knew it was exciting for them, and as parents it's nice to be able to give experiences to our kids just to show them we love them. Those high point joyous family times make all the lessons and sacrifices worth while. Well, the story gets better, so get ready!
We sailed down to the isthmus that separates the large part of Tahiti (Nui) from the smaller section (Iti). We needed to get a sail repaired at a port there and only had a day and a half to get it done before we had to sail further west. We found the sailmaker who was extremely backed up with work for 2-3 weeks, but we got huge favor and he graciously agreed to repair the sail and have it done by 5pm the next day! With that success we continued sailing south so the kids could see Teahupoo.
We arrived at this very small marina tucked in the midst of coral reef awash. Joel spotted a group of people on the dock that were loading boats with surfboards and camera crews. He got real excited to check out what was going on. When he and I went ashore to see about mooring at the dock, who should be standing there but Kelly Slater himself! Joel radioed Colin and they went ballistic having found out that he was shooting a scene for the new IMAX surf movie.
I grunted out my broken French making inquiry with the marina manager about docking. Shes said it was free mooring and free water! Eureka! As soon as we set the dock lines, the kids all hopped in the dinghy and followed Kelly and his crew out to the big wave.
Now, about this wave??"I mentioned before that they say it's the heaviest wave on the planet. So, what does that mean, I really had no idea until I saw it with my own eyes. This wave is stinkin' sic! It is meaty, the meatiest meanest phat-est fat wave you have ever seen! I thought about my friend Jane's meathead pit bull dog and decided on an analogy that this wave is like a huge bull mastiff compared to some emaciated little Chihuahua. And when this thing crashes it bites like a bulldog and doesn't let go! Oh yea, did I mention that it breaks over a few inches of jagged coral?
Colin's birthday is in a few days, so all he wanted to do was ride Teahupoo for his present. I couldn't bear to watch. I actually sat on the boat with the binocs while the rest of the fam road out to the curling doom. I got some good prayer time in!
Amazingly they made it back without even a scratch and having the hall of fame ride of their life!
We wrapped up our stay there, the kids having secured multiple autographs and pictures with Kelly. He talked to them for a long time, very nice guy.
Now the key to this story is straight from the gospels. Our Heavenly Father knows how to give good gifts to those who seek Him! This is the real stuff of what being reconciled to God and living for Him is all about. You see, as earthly parents we did our best to bless our kids with going to Teahupoo, but God the Father, the Creator of that wave major bumped it up big time! He planted Kelly Slater there, the greatest surfer on the planet, at exactly the moment we showed up! Come on! Who is like our God? This is what I'm talking about when I say that I don't have religion, I have relationship with the very personable, intimate Creator.
If that's not enough, God gave me the best husband on the planet! Clint is incredible! He just keeps it all going on this trip. He carries the weight of all the responsibility sailing this boat over thousands of miles of ocean under all kinds of conditions and makes all the necessary course corrections and adjustments for it to be the best sail possible. He diligently works on all the systems of this boat keeping them in excellent working order and tackles any problem until he fixes it right. He is steadfast with the vision he has for what this journey is all about and is unwavering in accomplishing it. He is tireless serving us by taking us surfing, diving, exploring. And, he does it all with a great attitude! I couldn't have ordered up all those qualities in a husband if I had tried, and even if I did, God would have trumped that anyway!
I had to hitch a ride 30 miles into Papeete to get our passports stamped and complete our departure paperwork. I love these Polynesians, they are major hospitable! I had people pick me up that drove me all the way to where I needed to go even when they weren't headed there. I had to get on line to check our account and when I couldn't find the internet caf�, a woman that I had asked about it just took me right to her home and set me down in front of her personal computer to use as I wished. We got more favor when we were able to get all of our paperwork completed on a Friday within 2 hours!
Now we are in Huahine. It is gorgeous here! I have to say that these Polynesian islands are unbelievably beautiful! I don't think I have seen one dead plant around here yet! Everything is vibrant and healthy, lush, green, pulsating with life!
I'll end this by telling you about my kitchen window view. For almost 20 years in Vegas, I was disappointed and unfortunately, moaned and complained on many an occastion, that I did not have a nice view of manicured landscaping out my kitchen window. Well, again, I haven't been forgotten 'cause I have the bomb-diggiest views you could ever imagine every day that I look out my galley port now! And, the best thing is that I get new views everywhere we go!
Come enjoy the view! Next stops, Raiatea, Tahaa, and Bora Bora, after that the Cook Islands. Love, Janet and all.


Comments
Vessel Name: svkairos
Vessel Make/Model: 38 Island Packet
Hailing Port: LV NV
Crew: Clint, Janet, Joel, Colin and Abbey
About:
The Glenny family has been cruising since 2000. We started with all five of our children aboard a 50ft. Jeanneau in Tortola and sailed for 8 mos. covering all the islands from Puerto Rico to Grenada. [...]
Extra: We fish everytime we are underway. We always catch plenty and keep alot of fish frozen to have on hand. We like to scuba dive and have a compressor and tanks on board. Kairos is a great boat, very sea worthy and we would recommend Island Packets to anyone.

If it is going to happen, it is going to happen OUT THERE!

Who: Clint, Janet, Joel, Colin and Abbey
Port: LV NV