Silk Road by the Sea

02 February 2011 | Taipei, Taiwan
06 January 2011 | Taiwan
26 December 2010 | Palau
13 December 2010 | Ulong Island
07 December 2010 | Koror, Palau
06 April 2010 | Koror, Palau
22 March 2010 | Royal Belau Yacht Club
07 January 2010 | Kansas City, MO USA
22 December 2009 | Rockford, IL USA
04 December 2009 | Koror, Palau
01 December 2009 | Palau
29 November 2009 | Still On the way to Palau
25 November 2009 | On the way to Palau
25 November 2009 | On the way to Palau
16 November 2009 | On the way to Palau
13 November 2009 | PNG
08 November 2009 | underway
06 November 2009
29 October 2009
18 October 2009 | Santo Vanuatu

27 July 2008 | Rangiroa
Janet
Well, we didn't get eaten by sharks, but we did get the wrath of Tiputa pass. This pass flows in and out of the atoll based on the tide changes. There is a way to figure it out like so many hours after moonrise and set and all that business, but it is too much for my brain to deal with right now. I think I have a mental block to all that stuff ever since my stellar astronomy professor at UNR lost me with all the distance calculations and triangulation formulas way back when. Anyway, there is only about a 15 min. slack tide that is nice to dive, but you have to hit it just right. Today we missed all manner of calculations and dropped in on about a 10knt current. It was wicked fast! Joel and I dropped to 90-100ft.and tried to swim diagonal toward the wall, Clint was a little ahead and above us. Meanwhile I was weighted a little heavy and trying to compensate as I came screaming upon some coral pinnacles and was almost dashed to pieces. Joel and I grabbed onto some coral heads to readjust, and my arms almost ripped out of their sockets, plus, when I turned my head to look at him, my regulator got torn from my mouth. Forget it, we just let go and played like superman flying over coral mountains until we got through to the other side. I stopped trying to hang onto the coral when one grab put me at the mouth of a giant green moray's home. He came out of his hole to charge me, and his head was almost as big as my chest. That was a rush!
We are sailing across the atoll today to some uninhabited motus and shark infested lagoons. Then, tomorrow we are sailing to Fakarava, another atoll in the Tuamotos; it is supposedly one of those last unspoiled dive spots in the world. From there we will sail over to Papeete, Tahiti finish clearing into French Polynesia and check out all the Society Island chain.
The boat is in excellent condition. All systems are go, and it has been very comfortable to stay on at anchor here. We are meeting a lot of other cruisers, mostly people who have come through the Panama Canal from England and the Caribbean.
I'm having to be a nagging mother hen to the boys. Colin came back yesterday from body boarding with the whole side of his lower leg macerated from the coral. We're really having to keep aggressive with taking care of these wounds so they don't get infected. I keep threatening them with amputation, but they just keep on going. It would be a bummer to die from sepsis in Paradise! I'd rather be eaten by a shark! I think God has assigned some special nursing/healing angels to compensate for all the stupidity going on. At least, that's what my hope is in for these guys. Maybe one of you needs to fly over here and play doctor or nurse as an outside resource. It sure would break up the monotony of your 12 and 24 hour shifts week after week after week. You could write the trip off as an emergency visit! Think about it??"we sure are having a great time here. I hate to see you all miss this. Just bring treats and your swimsuit when you come; we've got the rest covered! Love, Janet
Comments
Vessel Name: svkairos
Vessel Make/Model: 38 Island Packet
Hailing Port: LV NV
Crew: Clint, Janet, Joel, Colin and Abbey
About:
The Glenny family has been cruising since 2000. We started with all five of our children aboard a 50ft. Jeanneau in Tortola and sailed for 8 mos. covering all the islands from Puerto Rico to Grenada. [...]
Extra: We fish everytime we are underway. We always catch plenty and keep alot of fish frozen to have on hand. We like to scuba dive and have a compressor and tanks on board. Kairos is a great boat, very sea worthy and we would recommend Island Packets to anyone.

If it is going to happen, it is going to happen OUT THERE!

Who: Clint, Janet, Joel, Colin and Abbey
Port: LV NV