s/v Sand Dollar

A Kelly-Peterson 44 currently undergoing a long term refit in the PNW.

22 June 2016
01 June 2015
28 May 2015
28 May 2015
20 January 2013 | Brighton
02 January 2013 | Brighton
12 November 2010
01 March 2009 | Pueblo, CO
06 July 2007
27 May 2007
26 May 2007
25 May 2007
19 May 2007
28 April 2007
18 April 2007
03 April 2007
07 January 2007

Back to work

19 May 2007
Lori
We have been working on building a couple new fences at home and have put off coming down last weekend. So this weekend was it.

So... we went to the boat today to get her all set up for more work. We brought the finished settee, floor hatches and repair boards for the floor. We had to make an inventory of what else we needed and what we HAD to get done now. Our priorities are being moved around involuntarily, but we can still do this.

We got the settee in place, figured out how many more floor sections we need to cut and put the floor hatches in place. We tidied up and she looks great. We even put on the seat cushions to look at it. Looks awesome. Now to get the table back. The settee isn't nailed down, but its at least back on the boat. We still have to fix the bulkhead between it and the galley and the port side. But we figure that can be done fairly quickly.

We had the hatches all stacked neatly in the garage, but forgot to screw the hatch lifts on... they were just laying in place. That's OK, I will bring the screws next week and get that done.

While Michael was working on the floor stuff, I removed all the cupboard doors with the caning. I have the items I need to redo them, except wedges of course (ugh!) and will start working on those during the week. We were only at the boat for only a few hours today, but she looks all nice and tidy again, not like a workshop.

Michael is thinking about staying on the boat a couple of nights a week to get some more work done on her. He wants to work on the floors, sanding and putting on the varnish. The hatches look so beautiful I can't wait to see the whole floor done.

When we got home about 4:00, I couldn't sit still. I felt like I should be doing something. So I left Michael to play a computer game and Paisley and I went to Lowe's to look for wallpaper. We need to replace the old stuff that was on there. It is so bad it looks like a hack job. They have patches of it here and there and I absolutely hate it. So I found some that has great potential. I will get the book and take it to the boat next weekend to check. I also checked for veneer for us to use to build up the spot where the plywood was peeling off in layers. Its cheaper for us to use birch with the teak on top that all teak... much cheaper. And then I also found some great wood leveling compound we can use. So it was a very fruitful trip to the store. Now just to put in my orders - woohoo!
Comments
Vessel Name: Sand Dollar
Vessel Make/Model: Kelly-Peterson 44 Hull #153
Crew: Michael Eidsmoe, Lori Eidsmoe
Sand Dollar's Photos - s/v Sand Dollar (Main)
Annapolis, MD 2006
5 Photos | 1 Sub-Album
Created 2 January 2016
A nice master album for all the refit work.
32 Photos | 8 Sub-Albums
Created 1 January 2016