SV Scott Free

This life isn't a dress rehersal, live it to it's fullest

20 November 2014 | La Paz
30 May 2014 | La Paz
14 April 2014 | La Paz
20 March 2014 | Everett, WA
30 January 2014 | La Paz
21 January 2014 | La Paz
07 November 2013 | Everett
08 September 2013 | Everett
29 May 2013 | La Paz
07 May 2013 | Everett
03 April 2013 | Vancouver WA
12 March 2013 | Bahia Falsa
05 March 2013 | Bahia Falsa
03 March 2013 | La Paz
27 February 2013 | La Paz, Mx
12 February 2013 | Everett
13 January 2013 | Everett
08 January 2013 | Spokane, WA
12 December 2012 | La Paz
05 December 2012 | La Paz

Anchors Aweigh

02 July 2011 | Caleta Partida
Monica
Yes, we have left the dock. A one day delay due ignoring the common warning about eating foods with raw eggs, as in a Caesar salad. Trust me, DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE! I have been laying low since Thursday evening, sticking close to home waiting for things to get better. Today seemed like go day so off we left with the help of Ken from Bungee to throw off our dock lines

Out the marina breakwater we went and I have to say, I don’t think I have ever felt more empowered, more powerful as a woman. Who needs the stinkin men! Well I do, but not to sail my boat! Round the buoys at the Pemex point and we turned on the auto pilot, set the watermaker for the required 45 minute flush after pickling and put out the fishing lines. I wish I could report we are eating fish tonight, well not really, it is a bit of a relief as I’m not sure my tummy is up to cleaning and eating fish yet. Out over the open water, the amazing sea, who knows what we’re going to see out here!

About 2/3 of the way to Caleta Partida a beeping starts to warn me that we have lost satellite position and are no longer following on the GPS. Oh crap, I knew something was going to happen, I’m fine as long as things don’t break. But, if something is going to break this would be a good one since our travels are all line of sight and I’ve been to all the places before. No worries, I can handle this. I first start the troubleshooting, tracing the cable from the antennae, wiggling cables, checking in the menu to see if perhaps we just lost a couple satellites so we can’t triangulate . No, no satellites at all which tells me no signal. Either the antenna, do these things go bad????? Or a connection???? At least I have my depth sounder and my trusty compass, the only instrument Columbus used to get to the new world. HaHa.

We pull in, get anchored right around the corner in front of the fish camp and deploy solar panels, snubber and all other requirements of life at anchor. Life is good. The wind picks up and of course as NOT predicted, it blows around 20knts through the anchorage right over the cut. We are still in good position, although the boat in front of us has now moved further away, really, really, we were not close at all! Lynsie has made herself a drink, (my tummy is not up to that yet), and we are getting ready for our first night out. Here’s to no anchor watches and better yet, a night without many trips up an down from bed.
Comments
Vessel Name: Scott Free
Vessel Make/Model: Gulfstar 44
Hailing Port: Seattle
Crew: Scott and Monica Stoner
About: We are set for a life time of adventures together. We love life aboard and are living the dream!
Extra: This adventure started as a comment in 2006 on our honeymoon in the BVI's and has grown to the present reality.

SV Scott Free

Who: Scott and Monica Stoner
Port: Seattle