SV Scott Free

This life isn't a dress rehersal, live it to it's fullest

20 November 2014 | La Paz
30 May 2014 | La Paz
14 April 2014 | La Paz
20 March 2014 | Everett, WA
30 January 2014 | La Paz
21 January 2014 | La Paz
07 November 2013 | Everett
08 September 2013 | Everett
29 May 2013 | La Paz
07 May 2013 | Everett
03 April 2013 | Vancouver WA
12 March 2013 | Bahia Falsa
05 March 2013 | Bahia Falsa
03 March 2013 | La Paz
27 February 2013 | La Paz, Mx
12 February 2013 | Everett
13 January 2013 | Everett
08 January 2013 | Spokane, WA
12 December 2012 | La Paz
05 December 2012 | La Paz

So what's it like out there at night?

06 August 2009 | Newport, OR
Monica
I thought I would just post some random thoughts that I've had today since I don't have any big sea stories or other sailing adventures.

When you take over a night watch from the person standing before you there is always the briefing and telling the other of what has occurred during their watch. After that they disappear down below and you settle into your own routine. It differs for each person but for me I find the position under the dodger where the wind isn't coming in so that it is as warm as possible. I then check for visibility, making sure I can see most all directions and then sit staring out at the nothingness that surrounds the boat. The light varies and at times you can see far into the nothingness and at other times because of fog or lack of ambient moon light you don't see very far at all, just too where the darkness meets the next swell approaching you. As you watch the boat ride up and down on the swell you try and catch as much of the horizon on the upward beat of the rhythm as you can before sliding back down. After about 5 minutes of this I have to stand and do a 360 riding the swell catching a good view all around. It is amazing how you can go for hours and not see a single other light. This probably has surprised me the most.

To further entertain myself, I try standing and working on my core strength while the swell moves the boat in unpredictable directions. I try and see how long I can do this without grabbing onto something or falling on the cockpit seat. While doing this I curse the Wii Fit voice that tells me "Your balance isn't very good, we'll work on that". I hope to go back after a while and show that mean voice a thing or two after riding 6 feet swells for a while and having the balance of a gazelle.

After about the first 30 minutes you start counting down the time, 3 hours and 30 minutes to go.

One other nice thing about this cruising sport is that you take your house with you. I just went and changed into some sweat pants and my slippers because it is chilly and damp and I feel the need to be a little more cozy on an afternoon like this sipping hot tea. If I was on a vacation I don't think I would have packed my slippers and sweats for a little trip down the coast but because this is my house I have this luxury and many others on board to make this more comfort than not. I think I'm going to enjoy this lifestyle.
Comments
Vessel Name: Scott Free
Vessel Make/Model: Gulfstar 44
Hailing Port: Seattle
Crew: Scott and Monica Stoner
About: We are set for a life time of adventures together. We love life aboard and are living the dream!
Extra: This adventure started as a comment in 2006 on our honeymoon in the BVI's and has grown to the present reality.

SV Scott Free

Who: Scott and Monica Stoner
Port: Seattle