Sound Effect does the big U

14 November 2012
23 April 2012 | Punta Gorda
13 April 2012 | Gasparilla
12 April 2012 | Gasparilla Marina
04 April 2012 | Gasparilla marina
03 April 2012 | Gasparilla Marina
01 April 2012 | Gasparilla Marina florida
30 March 2012 | Gasparilla Marina
27 March 2012 | Gasparilla Marina
21 March 2012 | Gasparilla Marina
13 March 2012
12 March 2012
10 March 2012 | Cancun area
09 March 2012 | Quintana Roo
07 March 2012 | El Cid
03 March 2012 | Marina El Cid
03 March 2012 | Puerto Morales
01 March 2012 | Puerto Morales Mexico
28 February 2012
24 February 2012 | Texan Bay

Eight weeks and counting

25 June 2010 | Tacoma
Jim
I have planned to change the fuel filters today, which was good planning because it is cool and raining. In fact I have the heat on in the boat.

EVERY WHERE else in the world it is hot but not here in Tacoma! Well enough complaining about the weather. Can we possibly get everything done in time to leave? I doubt it and each time I make a plan I get advise that I have once again erred.
The latest is the decision about radar. I planned to install the smallest head on the market the MDS 1 by Sitex. I made this decision because I have decided to mount the radar on the top of the Bimini and I want the lightest unit available. Taking a quick survey in the marina more than half of the radars are on the mast. I decided not to mount on the mast because with in mast furling I am limited with space for cabling. The second most popular option appears to be a radar mast mounted on the stern. This is appealing but aside from the expense each potential location blocks and entry point for water and diesel tank ports.
It is possible to mount on the backstay but that is about a $1000. And I have seen "droopy" backstays due to the weight So I came to the conclusion of using the bimini frame. But the Sitex dealer says I wont be happy with performance? The only difference between the unit in question and the next is horizontal beam width. 7 degrees vs 4.7
My question is with the 7degrees horizontal beam width am I likely to miss the shore or another vessel on a collision course? My thoughts are that most of the time the silly thing is off any way. Any one out there with an opinion?
Comments
Vessel Name: Sound Effect
Vessel Make/Model: Dufour385
Hailing Port: Tacoma WA
Crew: Jim & Connie Merritt
About: Jim and Connie have been sailing since 1975 and have owned four different boats. Racing and cruising Puget Sound Jim has earned a 100 Ton Coast Guard License and US sailing instructor credentials
Extra: Dreaming about full time cruising for20yrs, Jim and Connie have been actively planning for 5 years since participating in the 2005 BaJa Ha Ha

Who: Jim & Connie Merritt
Port: Tacoma WA