SV Tanga

no experience necessary

21 November 2015 | Vuda Point Marina, Fiji Islands
03 November 2015 | Savu Savu, Fiji
23 October 2015 | Savu Savu, Fiji
29 June 2015 | Musket Cove, Malolo Lai Lai Island, Fiji
12 June 2015 | Musket Cove Marina, Malolo Lai Lai Island, Fiji
19 September 2014 | Musket Cove, Malolo Lai Lai, Fiji
05 September 2014 | Musket Cove, Malolo Lai Lai Island, Fiji
17 August 2014 | Musket Cove, Malolo Lai Lai Island, Fiji
26 July 2014 | Savusavu, Vanua Levu Island, Fiji
06 July 2014 | Nananu-i-ra Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
04 July 2014 | Nananu-i-ra Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
01 July 2014 | 17 23.614S:177 '47.72E
30 June 2014 | Port Denarau Marina, Fiji
25 June 2014 | Musket Cove, Malolo Lai Lai, Fiji
29 May 2014 | Port Denerau Marina, Fiji
21 May 2014 | Malolo Lai Lai Island, Fiji
19 May 2014 | Musket Cove, Malolo Lai Lai, Fiji
23 April 2014 | Musket Cove, Malolo Lai Lai Island, Fiji
08 April 2014 | Port Denarau Marina, Fiji
05 March 2014 | Vuda Marina, Fiji

Anything worth doing is worth doing yourself!

20 September 2011 | Santa Cruz Harbor
Tom
Prior to starting our trip, I decided that I wanted to do some routine maintenance on the engine. Change both the primary and secondary fuel filters, oil and filter change, and tranny fluid. Since we were at the KKMI boat yard, I asked if they had an engine guy who could do this while I watched so I could pick up any tips for this along the way (my first mistake).

Other than bringing the oil out via the dipstick, an oil change is just as you would think so I learned nothing there, but the fuel was another story. I expected the KKMI mechanic to change the primary filter and seal, along with the secondary filter and seal. Then get the book out for the bleeding instructions, as the filter change puts air in your lines that won't allow the diesel to run. Well the KKMI mechanic changed both elements but neither of the seals? I asked why and he said all seals were fine and I believed the KKMI mechanic (second mistake, far worse than the first). Then the bleeding of air process began. The KKMI mechanic said he needed to get his metric wrenches (all english nuts and bolts on this engine) and disappeared for an hour. While he was gone, I got out the book and saw it takes a 1/2, 5/16 and 9/16 to do the whole job and that 7 points needed cracked open to bleed the engine. Upon his return, I showed this to him and he told me this was the wrong book for the engine (at this point I should have kicked him off the boat but add it to my list of errors). After numerous tries to bleed different points, and several 15 minute runs to his tool shed for "a wrench", he decided to call someone who must have told him about cracking the injector lines because he did this and Ethel lit right up. Since she was running, I said whew and decided to chaulk it up to a lesson learned and water under the bridge.

The next day the engine died after a minute or two of running (more air). Well after bleeding what I thought was a little bit of air left, she purred like a kitten. She even ran great for a few hours while leaving San Francisco. But while approaching the pass at Half Moon Bay, she died after a half hour of running, hmmph. So after an embarrassing tow into the harbor, I started poking around to find out how air could be getting in. The secondary filter seal was severely nicked and allowing air in, so into my spares I went and replaced those and the primary filter seals for good measure. Then another full bleed and run for an hour prior to the next days trip to Santa Cruz.

Whelp, heading out the narrow pass, we hit very rolly swells and she died again, but we had the mainsail up and Monica sailed us away from the rocks while I rebled the engine, and off we went for about ten minutes then poof, out goes the engine again, after one more bleed she ran great until we cut her off to sail. The KKMI mechanic told me that rough seas may shake a bubble loose, so we were only a little worried about this(at this point I should know better huh?).

Then on the way to Santa Cruz, in zero wind and heavy seas, she died again. So after another embarrasing tow into the harbor at Santa Cruz, I'm back into looking at air issues. Deciding I'm done trusting others to do the work, I have removed and changed everything on the low pressure side including lines, seals, clamps and all fittings. After that, I changed the seals on the high pressure end and then pop! While we (Monica the mechanical lift pump operator) were bleeding, the handle to the mechanical lift pump broke. Fraglestuffing!!! Neptune is testing my patience!

So we sit here waiting for a new mechanical lift pump, I believe this should end my woes, but I won't know till the part is in. Thank you all for the tips and help, both on comments and around the docks, it's all very welcome as my romance with Ethel is just begining. more to follow...
Comments
Vessel Name: Tanga
Vessel Make/Model: Morgan OutIsland 415
Hailing Port: San Francisco, CA
Crew: Tom and Monica
About: Hi and welcome to our website. We are beginning our new journey in life of sailing around the world. Please follow along with us in our new adventures.
Home Page: http://www.tangaway.com
Tanga's Photos - Main
Our 3rd year spent in Fiji.
17 Photos
Created 25 April 2015
Our second year spent in Fiji.
57 Photos
Created 9 May 2014
May 2013 - December 2013
105 Photos
Created 18 May 2013
November 2012 - April 2013
15 Photos
Created 19 November 2012
September and October 2012
53 Photos
Created 24 September 2012
August 2012
15 Photos
Created 20 August 2012
August 2012
8 Photos
Created 15 August 2012
August 2012
4 Photos
Created 15 August 2012
August 2012
12 Photos
Created 5 August 2012
July 2012
19 Photos
Created 30 July 2012
June 2012
29 Photos
Created 7 June 2012
May 2012. Left Puerto Vallarta and 34 days later, we arrived on Nuka Hiva in the Marquesas.
23 Photos
Created 7 June 2012
March 2012
19 Photos
Created 5 March 2012
8 Photos
Created 1 November 2011
11 Photos
Created 13 October 2011
12 Photos
Created 1 October 2011
6 Photos
Created 27 September 2011
10 Photos
Created 20 September 2011
14 Photos
Created 13 September 2011
November 2010 through August 2011
22 Photos
Created 30 August 2011