SV THIRD DAY

Following a 4 year Cruise in Mexico, the Boren Family is living aboard in Morro Bay, CA for the kids to attend Morro Bay High School. Once that is done....who knows....

19 August 2016
31 May 2016
15 May 2016 | The Deck Project Day 1
11 March 2016
23 February 2016 | Morro Bay
13 December 2015 | Port San Luis, CA
27 September 2015
29 July 2015
17 July 2015 | Port San Luis, CA
04 April 2015 | Confessions of a Live Aboard Hobo
08 February 2015 | One Nnight Taco Stand
06 January 2015 | Talking about RO Membranes
23 December 2014
08 December 2014 | Rich was playing with the Camera Again
01 November 2014 | Or 2 Years Back in the States
08 September 2014 | Is it safe in an Anchorage
02 September 2014
09 August 2014 | 2900 Mile Round Trip

All Back to Normal

31 March 2012 | Tearing Things Apart and Fixing Them
Capt Rich
It was about two weeks ago that I took THIRD DAY out to Malaque to make some water and noticed that the engine temperature wasn't running the typical 185-190degs but up at 200degs even with plenty of cooling water shooting out of the exhaust. So today it was time to figure out what the problem was and as with any boat project, it always sounds easier to think about it than to do it, which is why it's taken me about 2 weeks of thinking about it to actually get busy and do it! Of course to gain access to the back of the engine requires taking apart the galley island, remember, nothing is easy on a boat.

Photobucket

I won't really know for sure until I get the heat exchanger back from being cleaned, reinstall it and then run the engine, but from the looks of it, I'm sure it definitely was losing some cooling efficiency with many of the small inner cooling ducts being plugged by gunk. The photo also shows the evils of salt water that was dripping on the bottom side of the heat exchanger that I couldn't see during my frequent engine inspections. Only when I was able to pull the unit out, did the ugliness come to light. I am glad that I'm dealing with this issue now in the calm waters of the Barra lagoon, rather than when bashing the 1000 miles up the outside of Baja heading for Port San Luis, Ca in June.

Photobucket

Once the heat exchanger was out, I put all 30lbs of it in my back pack and took the bus from Barra to Melaque to find a shop that could clean it. I had no idea if there was one, but figured the only way to know was to go and find out. I started looking for places that looked like they were working on cars (easy to find in Mexico with car parts lying all around). The first three places point me to someone else and then the 4th place pointed me pretty confidently across the street to what looked like a washing machine repair shop (obviously because of the washing machine parts all lying all around). After explaining what I wanted done to my $900 heat exchanger in my best Spanish, Mr. Garcia, shook my hand, put the heat exchanger up on his shelf, and told me to come back on Wednesday.

Now about how things work here in Mexico. His statement to come back on Wednesday in no way should be interpreted that the heat exchanger will be ready on Wednesday, but just that he will have an update for me on Wednesday. Understanding how things work in Mexico takes a bit of time, but once you get it, cruising becomes a lot less stressful. It's simple really. I just left my $900 heat exchanger with a guy that gave me no receipt and that I had only primitive communication with and I will go back on Wednesday for an update. There's nothing to worry about, since I have no where I can go without a heat exchanger anyway, so Wednesday is just as good as Tuesday or Friday really. Without the heat exchanger on the engine, I have no engine. At times like this I'm sure glad I trust our 100lb manson supreme anchor literally with my life and home, because I'm doing just that until the engine is operable again, which could be anytime form next Wednesday to May 27th?

Since I had the galley island torn apart and was already covered in oil and muck, I decided it was time to put in that new valve cover seal I have been carrying with me now for close to 2 years! It wasn't a "bad oil Leak" but even small amounts of oil in the bilge looks disastrous and then soaking it up with and disposing of absorbent pads is a mess. The below photo almost makes me look like I know what I'm doing, but believe me when I tell you, I have no real idea what those oily things on each of the 6 cylinders are, but I do remember reading in my engine manual something about adjusting the valve clearance with a feeler gauge? Huh...whatever that means. The old cork seal was hard and dead when I pulled it out; I put the new seal in, and managed to screw in the 8 bolts without dropping one into the abyss of the bilge. Consider that a miracle worth of a rum drink in celebration for sure!

Photobucket
Comments
Vessel Name: THIRD DAY
Vessel Make/Model: 1977 Hudson Force 50
Hailing Port: Morro Bay, California USA
Crew: The Boren Family: Rich, Lori, Amy, Jason and Cortez the Cat
About: Admiral: Lori Boren, Master: Jason Boren age 16, 1st Mate: Amy Boren age 17
Extra:
And God said, Let the waters under the heaven be gathered together unto one place and let the dry land appear: and it was so. And God called the dry land Earth; and the gathering together of the waters called he Seas; and God saw that it was good...... and the evening and the morning were the THIRD [...]
Home Page: http://www.cruiserowaterandpower.com/
Social:
THIRD DAY's Photos - SV THIRD DAY (Main)
Photos 1 to 3 of 3
1
Laundry Day aboard THIRD DAY in Marina De La Paz
View of THIRD DAY in marina de La Paz 1
View of THIRD DAY in marina de La Paz 2
 
1
Images of one of our favorite anchorages
11 Photos
Created 15 October 2009
A tour of THIRD DAY's galley.
10 Photos
Created 16 August 2009
Photos of our new LED cabinn lights that use 1/10th the amount of power as our old school halogens.
4 Photos | 1 Sub-Album
Created 28 July 2009
Welding work in La Paz
5 Photos
Created 27 July 2009
Images taken around Santa Rosilia
7 Photos
Created 27 July 2009
Photo Essay of the last two weeks at sea without internet access
6 Photos
Created 11 June 2009
Images of the Cruising Kids
3 Photos
Created 20 May 2009
When you buy a 28yr old boat with the plans of a multi-year cruise, you have lots of work!
6 Photos
Created 27 January 2008