s/v Vingilot - Fiji

11 October 2021
10 October 2021
09 October 2021
08 October 2021
07 October 2021
06 October 2021
05 October 2021
04 October 2021
03 October 2021 | Novatel - Auckland Airport
03 October 2021 | Novatel - Auckland Airport
01 October 2021 | South Pacific
29 September 2021 | South Pacific
29 September 2021 | South Pacific
28 September 2021 | South Pacific
27 September 2021 | South Pacific
26 September 2021 | South Pacific
25 September 2021 | South Pacific
24 September 2021 | South Pacific
23 September 2021 | South Pacific

Reflection on an amazing trip

11 March 2019 | Auckland (the city!)
Simon Mitchell | Fine and warm!
I was in the slightly weird position of being the only non-yachty on board, but at the same time the most experienced in the unpredictable moods of the southern ocean. This basically means I had the most reason to be afraid, and the least understanding of how we were going to deal with the basis for my fears! I need not have worried because I was in the very best of hands. I was fascinated by the calm and reasoned discussions between Charles, Tom and Vicky over how to handle the various situations that evolved during our trip, and it did not take me long to figure out that these were people who really are at the top of their game. What a pleasure to see them in action. Kevin too.

We have had an amazing trip. Harsh as the environment is, the Auckland Is are heaven for me. I have probably lived there for a total of 18 months over the years of studying the sealions in the 1980s, and various trips since. Being there is a total immersion in the most astonishing wonders of the natural world, and living a bit rough seems to sharpen the immersive nature of it. Seeing these animals live their daily lives, with all their quirky and in many cases extraordinary rituals and habits, is an incalculable privilege.

The islands are photographic heaven, though in this day and age it is galling to see Charles rattle off images on his iPhone that are pretty much as good as those I get with many thousands worth of fancy gear. I have put up a small gallery with a low resolution sample of some of my photos.

I would like to thank my "shipmates" for putting up with me, and keeping me safe. Great company, humour and professionalism. Safe sailing home team! I also thank DOC for letting me represent them, and for letting us go there. Finally, my wife Sian, the families of those others on board for putting up with our absences, and our workmates / colleagues for keeping everything ticking along whilst we had an amazing adventure.

Simon Mitchell
Comments
Vessel Name: Vingilot
Vessel Make/Model: Cavalier 45
Hailing Port: Auckland, New Zealand
Home Page: www.sailblogs.com/member/svvingilot/
Social:
Vingilot's Photos - Main
29 Photos
Created 17 May 2021
1 Photo | 6 Sub-Albums
Created 17 April 2021