Sward's adventures

24 March 2009
15 March 2009
14 March 2009
14 March 2009
14 March 2009 | Man-O-War Continued
27 February 2009
27 February 2009
24 February 2009
22 February 2009
19 February 2009
18 February 2009
17 February 2009
11 February 2009

Great Guana Cay Continued

24 February 2009
It was a cloudy/overcast day and a little cool-upper 60's so we all stayed in-recooperating from the partying the night before. I started this blog and finally figured out how to not loose what I've written before I get kicked off the wifi connection.

Lee and Barb came by about 4:00 and said they were going for a walk, then were heading to "Grabbers" for another rum punch, and did I want to join them. I said sure. When I got there, they were on their computer doing emailing-I wasn't able to do that at a restaurant that I tried earlier in the day. IB, Rebecca and Jason also joined us. It was a nice little place with an awesome view of the other anchorage-Fishers Bay and the sunset. I have pictures of it. We have decided that we are all taking a test of all the rum punches we've had. There were: ? in Spanish Cay, Tipsey Turtles in Green Turtle, Frosty Nippers, here at Nippers bar, and Guana Grabber at Grabber's bar.

We went down the road to another place to eat since Grabbers didn't have anything to eat. It was Pirate's Cove-I had gone there in the morning to try internet and that's where I had my last rum punch that did me in the night before. They only had three things on the menu: Shepards Pie for $18.00, a burger for $12.00-no french fries-don't know what would come with it., or some type of lobster something for $20.00. We decided it was too expensive, so we left. Lee and Barb invited us all to their boat for taco's, but IB and Rebecca are vegatarians, so opted not to go. Jason and I ded. It was a very nice evening-they have a 42ft Niagra-beautiful boat.

So, that brings me up to date on t his trip. Today is very windy and cool, but sunny so I'm trying to get this done.

Rebecca and IB came by a few minutes ago to say "see you later" since they are heading out to go to Marsh Harbor, but will be back here for the 2nd, as I will be also, for a music thing!! Looks like a musician who is popular will be here then-only twice a year, so it must be good. It's called the Annual Barefoot Man concert on Nippers Beach. I'll have to look it up on the internet-it's on:barefootman.com or nipersbar.com-on that website you could see the colorful Nippers and ocean views from there. I'm sure they have some good one's.

I had wanted to go snorkling, but everyone bailed out because it's cold and pretty windy especially on that side of the island. I don't know if I'll get to do it here-I certainly won't do it alone.

Jack and Claire-I see lots of Moorings boats here next to me.

I had the engine going for an hour or so to heat the water for a shower. I ran it for about an hour and when I tried to turn it off, I couldn't. It wouldn't turn off with the kill switch or the key, so I used the kill switch on the engine. I haven't been able to get it started since. I worked on it for a couple of hours, checking everything I could think of or see. I even changed the connections in some of the wiring that looked suspicious. The battery has enough volts as did everything else. The kill switch on the engine seemed to reset. Jason, another friend/cruiser, put me in touch with a guy he met here. Allen, was willing to come out to the boat in my dingy to look at it. He lives aboart his 48' power boat and has been in boating for most of his life so he knows what he's looking at. He worked on it for a couple of hours. He was stumped, but thought maybe the amps in the battery were down. There were enough volts, but he thought I should run the battery charger for a couple of hours and it would be ok-NOT-of course. I ended up running it for about 8 hours, no change. Allen wouldn't take any money for his time. I went to shore in the evening to Pirates Cove bar, where he hangs out since it's right at the end of his dock and he's done work for the owners, to
buy him a few drinks. We had a nice chat for an hour or so. I thought I was buying him drinks, and I had 3 rum punches. The bar tender also was talking with us-it was a very small tiki hut. I asked how much I owed-he said $12.00. I know the rum punches are at least $5.00 each. Someone or maybe more helped me out with the drinks. What a nice surprise. Sailors are so helpful to each other. I had also talked with IB on Passport who is in Marsh Harbor-he gave me a couple of ideas of things to look at.
Comments
Vessel Name: DreamOn
Vessel Make/Model: Freedom 32