Sward's adventures

24 March 2009
15 March 2009
14 March 2009
14 March 2009
14 March 2009 | Man-O-War Continued
27 February 2009
27 February 2009
24 February 2009
22 February 2009
19 February 2009
18 February 2009
17 February 2009
11 February 2009

Man-O-War Cay continued

27 February 2009
Well, the mechanic, Jerry Tubbs, an older gentlemen, came and crawled around checking everything. Finally, he checked the back of the battery switch and the nuts were loose and that was the problem!! I had done that awhile ago trying to check out something else and left them loose incase I needed to go back to redo them in another way. Only these things can happen to me. That was the only thing we hadn't checked the other day. I did mention it to the guy who helped me in Great Guana, and he thought he didn't need to look at that. At least it is fixed. I will get off the dock soon so I don't need to pay for another nights dockage. I will anchor here somewhere and spend time seeing the sights.


The reason for the delay of info on the blog is because I've tyed this about 4 times and the computer connection quit each time I hit submit. I was frustrated with the effort. This the second time again today. I'm trying a different method this time. The last time I tried a few minutes ago the internet provider said there was a problem with the optic cable-try again later!!!!!!! UGH!

After the repair I took a walk around the island. It was a picture perfect day. I've already downloaded the photo's. I walked probably 2-3 miles. There are only a few shops-2 small grocery stores, a shop where 3 ladies were sewing canvas bags, they had a million in stock, I wondered why they needed 3 sewing to make more. There was an ice cream shop, realestate office, gift shop, hair salon and a "Take Away" restaurant. They are not called take outs. You can't eat there-only take away. There a couple of boat yards, where they were building 23 ft. powerboats. There weren't any boats in the yard, but lots of activity in the sheds. The boats are called Albury 23's. Albury is one of the original family names on the islands.

I went to a beach where 3 other boaters were. I went swimming, again the water was incredible. There was a lot of seaweed and flies so I left. There are only 2 roads on the Island. Some paved in cement then sand roads further out of town. On the right were sandy paths going out to the beach along the way. When I finally got to the end of the road is where was a spot that was about 300 feet wide where the Atlantic Ocean was on one side and the Abaco Bay on the other. Unbelieveable. I had seen a small sailboat with a gaff rigged bright red sail. It was so perfect. I have pictures of that too.
Comments
Vessel Name: DreamOn
Vessel Make/Model: Freedom 32