Kristen and Rick's Great Adventure

Getting ready to jump into the cruising life with both feet!

11 April 2009 | Kabul
03 September 2008 | Daytona Beach
01 September 2008 | 26'46.174"N 81'23.271"W
31 August 2008 | Ft Myers Beach Mooring field
30 August 2008 | Same as yesterday
29 August 2008 | 26'27.362"N 81'57.036W
28 August 2008 | Boca Grande
26 August 2008 | Clearwater, Fla
25 August 2008 | Hellson...I mean Hudson
22 August 2008 | ???
20 August 2008
20 August 2008 | Hudson, Fl
19 August 2008 | Hudson, Fl
17 August 2008 | Hudson, Fl
17 August 2008 | Yes, still in Hudson
14 August 2008 | Still in Hudson
13 August 2008 | Hudson, Fl
06 August 2008 | Charlotte, NC
02 August 2008 | Still on I-10
02 August 2008 | Somewhere on I-10 East

On The Road Again

02 August 2008 | Somewhere on I-10 East
Rick
We are headed home to Charlotte for a few days to pick up the dinghy (which we named Jo Jo) and a few other odds and ends we couldn't fit on the initial trip down. We also can't wait to see our babies (one of them is pictured above) who we abandoned to make this trip. We'll have them join us on the ICW in eastern Fla.
We were up at 0430 this morning and on the road by 0500. I drove a grand total of 98 miles before pulling into a rest area and joining Kristen for a snooze! Now, she's driving and I'm typing this blog entry. Ah, the power of modern technology.
We really got a lot of to-do's accomplished this week. Operation Clean was just the tip of the ice berg. Somehow, I wrangled my portly self into the engine room and went through all of the various systems down there. I found a couple items of concern that will require attention before shoving off. Nothing major, thank goodness.
I also went through the spares inventory the previous owners built up. It was quite impressive! There are spare filters for fuel, oil, and water. There's o-rings and gaskets for every part on the engine. There's epoxy and putty and all kinds of oils and paints. We feel like a floating hardware store! But it does save us the trouble and expense of going out to buy them ourselves. This is a good thing.
To take a break from the gruelling boat work, I like to fish. Last night, we really got into them. I hooked a large snook that jumped really high and promptly snapped my line, throwing the remaining bobber right at us in the process. I swear he flipped me the fin as he splashed back down! But revenge was mine as I soon hooked into a few of his fishy friends and made them pay! All fish were safe from the grill this night as we tend to not eat fish we catch in marina waters....yucky.
That's all for now. We now send you back to your regular broadcast. Tiki out.
Comments
Vessel Name: Tiki
Vessel Make/Model: Morgan Out Island 33
Hailing Port: Charlotte, NC
Crew: Rick and Kristen
About: Sitting on the "G" and waiting for the "O"
Extra: The trip to Luperon was the proverbial straw. It's on! Oh yes....it is ON!
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/tbd

Cruise 08

Who: Rick and Kristen
Port: Charlotte, NC