The Normal Life Again

Who: Ryan Harris Wesley Harris
Port: Ventura, California
16 January 2012 | Ventura, California
16 January 2012 | Ventura, California
16 January 2012 | Ventura, California
16 January 2012 | Ventura, California
15 January 2012 | Ventura, California
15 January 2012 | Ventura, California
14 January 2012 | Ventura, California

Freshman Year

15 January 2012 | Ventura, California
Ryan Harris
My first taste of high school was freshman orientation. I didn't know what to expect. I was wondering if many others would feel the same. When I arrived there with my brother everyone looked curious, and probably anxious like I was. I remember going into Spirit Hall and being called the Class of 2013 thinking "yeah, like that would ever happen". I remember a rather humorous individual who was on stage, who was Mr. Villa, explaining how we will enjoy Foothill very much. It was then we were to visit our teachers who would give a brief overview of the year. My brother went to Mr. Dinkier who taught Spanish 3, a class in which he was the only freshman... Kind of a scary thought since I have the same class, just a different period. I started out at EDA, taught by Mrs. Carr who was also was the coordinator for FIRE, and was told that I would learn many valuable skills that are necessity due to this high technological society. A rather humorous encounter followed at my next class, Spanish 3. As I enter my second period class Mr. Dinkier is at his desk and looks up at me as I enter says, "No no, go to your next period class. I'll see you next time when school starts." I'm completely confused, so I just stare at him. He gets off his chair says, "What is your next class". I respond that this is my second period class. He asks to see my schedule, and said. "I don't understand, I thought this was your first period class." I responded by saying, "That must have been my twin brother". He laughs saying, "Of course! Sorry about the confusion, but the time is up, you have to head to your third period class". I shake his hand and leave, already surprised I have a story to tell at the dinner table about school when it hadn't began. The rest of the classes went smoothly and I met the rest of my teachers, and a few of my fellow classmates. After that my brother and I were picked up at the front of the school with only approximately two weeks left until my Foothill "career" begins.
The first day of high school, a turning point in everyone's life, was a surreal experience for me, because in just a few years (1 year now) I would be going off to college. To be honest, before I began high school I only had one feeling for it. Anxiety. So many people pressure that how good you do at high school will decide which college you will go to and ultimately where you end up in life. But there was no going back now. Since I have been accepted into one of the most prestigious public schools in California, I wasn't going to take the easy route through... I was going to challenge myself. I took all the honors classes available in freshman year, which in the end was only two, but it was a start. All teachers were very supportive and stated that high school wasn't that hard if you put your mind to it. I thought they were trying to sooth the hell that was about to result, but in the end, I was wrong. I met some very nice people at Foothill, and re-befriended many whom I had been a friend with in the past. One thing that Foothill was notorious for was its relentless amount of homework. This was a change, because on the boat and at middle school there was little homework. To keep constantly completing assignments it took a great deal of focus and help from my FIRE mentors, which ultimately set my goal of enrolling into FIRE my junior year. During my first week of high school at Foothill I did all of my assignments and double-checked everything many times. After have completed my first few weeks at Foothill, the impressions that high school was an academic hell in which only the strongest would survive was vanishing. I have managed to earn a 4.0 GPA, which was greatly appreciated in my mind due to the rumor of students from middle school who had earned 4.0 GPAs' and worked vigorously for a 3.0 GPA at Foothill. The first quarter had been a success. The reward to each student was October break.
My family decided to spend it at Cancun, Mexico with friends whom we had met years ago in our adventures on our boat. Our friendship had been sealed the day we met them. Some friends whom we had met a year ago introduced us to them. The mother was named Christie, the father, Joe, and their two daughters Juliana and Cassie. My brother and I left the boat where we had met them and went on shore to get to know each other. We were walking a cross a fountain, which had a metal grate in the middle that was broken in a one section. That spelled disaster. Juliana was unaware of this and fell the down a grate causing six-inch, one-inch deep cash in her leg. My brother instinctively ran down the dock to contact my Mom and Dad, who are doctors. My parents were the good Samaritans and sewed up her leg (which was gruesome scene). Since that day, we have been in contact and they offered to host our October break. When we flew down to Cancun, we hadn't seen them for over a year, and were very excited to meet them. They drove us to a beautiful house that they had lived in since they decided to live in Mexico for a few years. We spent a week with them in which we participated many activities with them. The most memorable was an adventurous tour in a park called Xplor. In a nutshell it was full of underwater caverns and numerous tall trees connected by zip lines over large distances and heights that varied from ten to a hundred yards. We arrived in the morning excited since this was the number one tourist spot in the city. Xplor began by a trail cut through the forest that enter caves full of water and many exotic animals could be seen during it, but the more fascinating part of this adventure was that it was in the roaring power of a Jeep! Since there were eight of us and the Jeeps could only accommodate two people, we split up into four groups. We drove for approximately four miles through mangroves, parts of tropical forests, and through multiple caves. The trail ended at the base of a large tree and employees took the Jeeps off our hands in exchange for harnesses for zip lining. We walked to the base of the tree where employees of Xplor harnessed us to a rope and we were pulled up one at a time. When one is 50 yards high on a tree, it appears to be higher then it actually is. But anyhow, I was the first to get connected to a line and before you knew it I was zooming along at about 30 miles an hour with the entire ocean of green rainforest in everything direction. The view was surreal. Before I knew it, I was at the end of the line and onto the next tree. I was eager to go again. Although it was a quick blur every time, it was beyond fascinating. Just like talents, movies, and more, they saved the best for last. At the final section the zip line had a slight angle of depression. I was attached to the line and I pushed off the wood and off I went. As I was going down I noticed a dark spot up ahead, and saw that I was going into a cave with a waterfall at the mouth. It was phenomenal. You went deep into the cave and you could barely see in the dark due to the quick transition from light to dark. I felt myself stopped by someone who told me to continue and jump off the back in Spanish. When I was detached from the line I walked about 3 yards to the end of a wooden platform and jumped into the abyss. Apparently the abyss was only 10 feet deep, but you wouldn't be able to tell in this black void. I heard splashes behind me from my friends and family who came in after me. After our eyes had adjusted we could make out signs that told us which direction to go to. We followed them and the cave conveniently ended at the parking lot. We all entered the van in our soggy garments and were taken back to the home of the Boyles. That was the highlight of the October break aside from numerous other activities such as surfing, fishing, and more. But before we knew it, our week of break had been over. We said our goodbyes and were driven back to the airport to return to California. We boarded the plane and landed in Houston, Texas, followed by a final place to Los Angeles, California. One arrival, we acquired our luggage and drove back home. October break was over.
The transition of returning to school was tough, due to a week of waking up at ten or later, and going to sleep around eleven. I found it difficult to wake up, and the first day back at Foothill was exhausting. But within a week I had perfectly transitioned into Foothill. A few weeks after we had returned from break, the notorious 9th Grade Project was at it initial phase. Everybody was assigned endangered animals, an environment and an issue presented in that environment. I received the Spotted Owl, which lived in the Temperate Forest, and the issue was that deforestation was both killing the trees and the owls, as well as many other species. Over the course of two months, many teachers assisted students by giving them time in class to work on their projects and even letting them come in for help during FIRE. I had heard of the stories of procrastination on this project and was sure to make that not happen to me. Even if it were to the bare minimum, I would always spend at least 15 minutes or more looking at my speech, collage, etc. to make sure my speech was first. Despite other homework and numerous tests to study for, I managed to create an excellent 9th Grade Project speech and collage. On December 12, the day that many had been dreading, was the day that all freshmen were to present their speech. Everybody was wearing the best clothes they could. I was wearing your average formal wear of dress shoes, pants, white buttoned collared shit, and a black over shirt. After a short school day, all students were given a room in which they were to present. I was assigned to Mrs. Gaspar's room along with eight other students. There were five adults, including Mrs. Gaspar, who were to judge the presentations. I found myself becoming extremely bored after watching poor speeches, but was interest by those who actually tried. I noticed that everybody was being asked one question at the end of his or her presentation. After bearing everyone's speech I was called up to be the last presenter. I walked to the computer and put my collage on the overhead. I walked in front the class and presented the speech as I had practiced it. No pressure. I felt as if I nailed and felt very good about it. I was prepared for the only question that they were going to ask me which was what does your collage represent. I simply explained each picture and told why it was up there. I was about to sit down when they asked me another question, then another, and many more. When I finally sat down it made me think why was I asked over ten questions while others only had to answer one. Was it because my argument was flawed? Not that couldn't be it, was it because my GPA was higher then the others? Maybe. Or was it bad luck? Most likely. When everyone received his or her scores back I was enraged at mine. I worked so hard for an 89%!? The reasons why I had been docked point were outrageous! I look at my score sheet, and saw many shockingly evil areas in which I had been taken points from. For example, I had been given 50% on the "formal wear" section! I was wearing the most formal clothing as possible. So that cost me my A. Other reasons were because during the questioning my argument was "not thought out". What the hell was that supposed to mean? I was given an issue that I did not care about and was supposed to think about every detail? They asked me over ten questions, when no one else was asked over one. I found one of my fellow presenters in my room had gotten a better score then me and he was horrible! His speech started somewhat like this "Global warming is a horrible thing. This thing is killing the Earth and blah-blah-blah". He was stuttering, looking at index cards throughout the entire speech. I had mine perfectly memorized, I looked directly at each and every proctor. Yet someone who procrastinated to the last night did better. Even to this date, I believe that I was screwed on the 9th Grade Project and will always go on a rant about it whenever the subject is brought up.
Aside from that majorly discouraging section winter break was the next week and my family and I were going to spend it both at Mammoth Mountain and at home. Within thirty minutes of the break commencing we were on our six-hour drive to Mammoth. In my mind the drive goes in four stages. Leaving, arrive at Mojave, arrive at Bishop, and then finally arrive at Mammoth. There isn't much to do except read or talk. We arrived at about 10:00 P.M. and unloaded the car then went to bed. We woke up and immediately began putting on our skiing garments and had a quick breakfast. At approximately 9:00 A.M. after breakfast we drove to the ski lifts. We began skiing all over the mountain. From easy slopes to the extremely steep runs, nothing was a challenge. I have been to every slope on mountain and can ski it. I have been skiing since I was three years old and have become a very experienced skier. We continued skiing with no abnormal coincidences until the arrival of Christmas! This was the first Christmas ever celebrated up at Mammoth for me and I was excited to have snow for once. This year there were a small amount of gifts due to the lack of space in the car, but I didn't care. I got a few books and a remote helicopter that I had wanted and my brother got a remote control plane. That night before dinner we walked in town on the cold Christmas night and looked at all the beautiful decorations in the town. We returned to the condo and had a delicious plate full of king crab. On Boxing Day morning, the day after Christmas, we returned to Ventura and arrived at around three in the afternoon. We spent the next week with our friends and family until school started five days later. School was a bit hectic and nerve-racking as the notorious finals were creeping up slowly. In all my classes we were told to study vigorously and teachers some gave us study guides. Since my brother and I had all of the same classes we helped prepare one another for each final until we were ready. We took each final one at a time and for both of us, not one of our final scores was a C or lower. I felt accomplished that I had successfully passed a semester with a 4.0 GPA and it made me feel confident that I would be successful in the future if I put my effort into it. My brother and I started out the quarter of applying to Foothill's ASB. The new quarter went by slowly, but without many occurrences, and we had reached the lovely fall break.
For fall break we were going to do something unusual. We were going to cross the mountains from Mammoth Mountain to Yosemite on skis. This sounded dangerous, but my Dad said he had done it many times and there was nothing to worry. It took approximately one week to cross it so we couldn't waste any time once the break started. We looked at the weather and saw that a small snowstorm was coming, but we could easily get past it. So aside from that it should be perfect conditions on doing it. We also had three others accompanying us. We had PK, who was 86 years old, his son Vance, about 50 years old, and Vance's son Reed, who was 18 years old. We all got the necessary gear and went to the base of the mountain we needed to climb. Normally we would drive to the top of the mountain to where is flattens out, but the road had many potholes in it, so it wouldn't be safe due to the road being a cliff until you reached the top. Since the road is always like that you must ski on the snow-covered road to the top, which takes about one to two hours. Since there was no snow all seven of us had to slowly walk up to the top with approximately 60 pounds of gear on each person. It took five hours to reach the top. By then, PK who was exhausted decided to turn around, and his son, Vance, wanted to make sure he would make it down safely turned back with him. Reed stayed with us and we pitched our camp. Since we were all very hungry and only had beef jerky to eat, we ate it all. Due to all the salt we all drank all the water we had. We all went to bed and when we woke up everything was lightly powdered with snow. The storm was coming. We quickly packed up, but with this snow, we were all able to ski on the snow until it got flat. Once we turned around a bend it went from almost ten mph of wind to about fifty mph. We all were buffeted as we slowly trudged along in this freezing hell. The only consolation was that five miles ahead there was a food cache that was filled with food that we stocked the summer before. We continued through the blizzard for about another 500 yards and we couldn't continue any further since we could barely see in front of us. We pitched camp under a tree, which had its branches right at my head level. We pitched camp at 11:00 A.M. My parents got their own tent while we stayed with Reed. It was horrible, no food or water and you had already exhausted yourself in the blizzard. It was very cold, all you had were your cold clothes that had fought that blizzard and a sleeping bag. There was nothing to do but wait. We were in the tent for approximately 24 hours until the blizzard died down for a bit. We took this opportunity to push snow off the top of the tent and get out and move the tents to a new location. The tent was about 5 feet tall and it was buried under 4 feet of snow. Before we knew it we all had to take shelter in the tents as the blizzard returned to its harsh force. We had no water and that was a major issue. The only water was snow that we could melt in small cups. A completely compacted cup of snow was about ΒΌ full of water. It took about an hour to melt it. It was extremely dangerous to eat snow because it lowered your core body temperature, which could lead to hypothermia. The next day when we woke up at about ten in the morning we all got outside the tent and there was no wind, no clouds in sight, and no water. We all had no had a glass of water in sixty hours. At this point we all basically said, "Screw this" and we turned around. The problem was, that it was a mile back until we could start the descent, but there were large amounts of soft snow and it would be hard to ski through it. Since my brother and I had the only skis capable of "floating" on snow we had to break the trail. It was like trudging through water that was two up to your thighs and was two times denser. After not eating and having water in what felt like an eternity, we all found it difficult to accomplish this. As were halfway back and desperate for water, we heard the running water from a stream under us. My Dad had a small axe and started hacking at the ice and eventually made it to the water. My Dad filled everyone's water canteens and my brother and I drank about 2 liters of water within a minute. Apparently this was a dreadful mistake. It appears when one hasn't had water in a long period of time, the concentration gradient changes to adapt to this low amount of water. When water enters the body at a rapid rate and the concentration gradient changes rapidly, the individual will become very nauseous. This is exactly what happened to both my brother and I. Within minutes of consuming a large portion of water both my brother and I became unconscious and simply fell into the snow. We awoke within seconds of falling, but as soon as we stood up we vomited and went unconscious again. At this point my brother and I couldn't continue the trail, so Reed decided to go ahead and we would continue. My parents stayed with both of us, but as we were moving I fell over again and broke the binding on my ski. At this point I fell into the snow and I was up to my neck in powder. I managed to get most of the way up and my Dad and I managed to repair the ski by using rope. As we continued slowly, I gradually began to feel better and we managed to make it to the road where there was a downward incline which made it able for all of to start skiing down. Halfway down, we saw two Jeeps on their way up and they stopped right in front of us. They got out and it was the park rangers. Reed managed to get down and inform them of our situation and sent the Jeeps up to recover us. At this point in time we didn't need their help, but we were happy to accept their offer of taking us to the base of the mountain where our car was. They got us to the bottom and we thanked them, but we were exhausted and all we wanted to do was go back to a condo and relax. After a day of relaxation, it was time to head back to school and boy didn't we have a story to tell, eh? The next few weeks of school went without a hitch. I managed to complete the quarter with once again a 4.0 GPA. At this point the prospect of summer vacation wasn't a fantasy now. It was now a reality. As summer grew closer, so did finals. I learned from previous mistakes from last semester, and during the quarters I managed to get high grades and not need to study as hard for the finals. When finals arrived I had paid attention in class and knew everything adequately and managed to get receive superb results. The day finals were completed was the day summer began. It was time for the well deserved summer break.
Comments
Hailing Port: Ventura, California
Crew: Ryan Harris Wesley Harris

The Normal Life Again

Who: Ryan Harris Wesley Harris
Port: Ventura, California