Sailing South on Solitude

John, Penni & Timmy 2024

Preparing to Depart

The dream is becoming a reality. We are on the boat in our home marina preparing for our trip to Florida or wherever. In Penni's words...
How am I feeling? Well apart from being cold all the time, I am feeling more than a little nervous. Scared, scared to the point that I am thinking about backing out. It's similar to how I felt when I was 18 years old and eagerly signed up to do a parachute jump to raise money for charity. I was full of enthusiasm at the time and threw myself in to getting sponsors, signing the paperwork and increasing my muscle strength. Then, the day before the training and jump, I hardly slept at all. Fear had replaced the excitement. Worries replaced courage. That's how I feel now. I going to miss a toilet with automatic flush, an en suite bathroom, walk in closet, space to walk from one room to another. I am clinging to the hope that when it comes to it, I will again experience the wonder, peace and awe of viewing the world from a different angle.
For now - we are dealing with the practicalities of staying warm and purging the unnecessary items from the boat.


Comments