Sailing South on Solitude

John, Penni & Timmy 2024

Exploring Jekyll Island

Today, we decided to stay and explore Jekyll Island and head to our next destination tomorrow. It was raining most of the morning so we languished until 9, took Timmy for a quick walk and visited the facilities before coming back to the boat to clean up a little.
One of the things I was concerned about before we began the adventure was the use of the facilities. Not having my own bathroom and shower seemed a little daunting. Indeed, we are taking far fewer showers than we usually do. We did not shower in Sunbury for instance as it was a muddy approach and they looked basic to say the least. When anchoring, it would technically be possible to shower on Solitude. The ‘heads’ have a shower tray and there is a shower head on the sink that you could pull out and shower whilst sitting on the toilet (with the lid closed). Or so I am told. I would rather remain dirty and there are not many people around to complain. Bahia Bleu’s shower was on a par with our shower at home - large and nearly on trend. However, my shower at home does not have other people’s hair in the drain. I had to have a whole conversation with myself about that- it won’t hurt or infect you; everyone I have met seems very nice - it would be like showering after a friend; and it feels so good to have a warm shower. At the moment, even though it is cold, it is still fun to leave the boat with wash kit and towel and be able to take a long shower. One thing that has helped is to be prepared. Daniela left me a toiletries bag that has separate pockets and hangs up. I have loved being able to keep things together and off any questionable surfaces. I also brought some eucalyptus shower spray. It is one that I treated myself to at home and it fills the whole bathroom with a lovely aroma. Now, whatever shower I am in, I am surrounded by a refreshing, familiar smell. This is off season though- I am sure it will feel different on our way back when we might have to wait to get a shower. Anyway - we have had a wonderful day. The marina has bikes to loan, even some with baskets. We popped Timmy in a basket with a towel on the bottom and one of my jackets around him and set off to explore the island. My mum has told me the story about when she and my dad came to Jekyll Island with friends of theirs - Marie and Brian. They had a tandem per couple and set off together, but quickly lost each other. At various times, they would see Marie and Brian on a distant path heading in one direction or another. For British readers, add some Benny Hill music, and the picture is complete. They would wave, but never seemed to be able to find each other. Now I totally understand. We headed to the historic district first. The map is open for misinterpretation and there are bike paths everywhere. The good news was, they all seemed to lead to the historic district or the beach village. We went to the turtle center in the historic village. They are one of the few marine wildlife hospitals in the US and it was fascinating seeing the turtles and hearing about how they were cared for. Most of them are able to be returned to the wild eventually. The historic district is beautiful with stunning mansions that they call cottages, finely manicured lawns, and live oaks with Spanish moss draping almost to the ground. We then went to the beach village which is, in true American style, built to be the perfect seaside resort. Everything was cute and immaculate. Spring flowers were already blooming in neat little rows. While we were there, off season, they were power washing the sidewalks. It is that kind of perfect. The complete opposite to most British seasides that have sprung up over the centuries in a haphazard, but charming and genuine way. Still, we enjoyed a great lunch there and then took Timmy for a run along the beach. We missed the sign that said dogs must be kept on a leash(wink,wink) so a good time was had by all. We cycled back to the marina, grabbed the loaner golf cart, and went to the local gas station to fill up the gas can with gasoline for the generator. Timmy is now fast asleep! John and I probably won’t be far behind him. We just have to make our plans for tomorrow first….


Comments