Sailing South on Solitude

John, Penni & Timmy 2024

An Inconvenience

We left the boat early this morning at around 9am. Now, I am going to share the realities of sailing. Our head is attached to a holding tank. There is not much room in the holding tank, and we have been here two and a half days. That was the reason for an early start. We went to shore for the toilets and then planned to walk into town to grab some supplies such as beers and water. To our dismay we discovered that the toilets at the restaurant don’t open before the restaurant. We therefore had to walk about two miles to a coffee shop in town. We diligently followed google maps to our chosen destination only to discover it was closed. Not a huge issue, there were others, but by this time the need for the toilet was greater than the need for a coffee. We hurriedly backtracked to another coffee shop we had seen and luckily found a table for two. The waiter came with the menu. ‘Do you have restrooms?’ I asked. ‘Oh yes, but you cannot get to them through the cafe. Go to the end of the building, around the corner, and it is the second blue door’. I quickly made a selection and embarked on my quest trying to walk normally. I opened the second blue door and found myself in the kitchen. The sou chef looked at me and I guess my face said it all. He pointed to the left, and there, to my delight was the restroom. A whole room to myself to rest in. Wonderful! I returned to the cafe two pounds lighter. As I sat down, John stood up and headed to the restroom. He definitely was not walking normally. We used to take these things for granted but I can tell you, the challenge makes the task much more rewarding. After a chocolate croissant and a scone to celebrate, we walked back to the harbor, admiring the iguanas on the way. Timmy had been carried much of the way as we are still careful not to let him get overheated. You would have thought he had been carrying us though. When we got to the boat he flung himself on the mat and slept the whole afternoon. John and I enjoyed lunch and drinks in the cockpit while reading and planning the next leg of our journey. After drinks and a light dinner we got back into the dingy for - you guessed it- the restrooms. I tested out my rowing skills much to everyone’s amusement, but I did get us there and back safely.
Be grateful I chose to post a picture of the iguanas today.


Comments