Sailing South on Solitude

John, Penni & Timmy 2024

Timmy Day

Today was a dream day for me. To start with, I got to stay in bed with mummy until ten. Daddy went off to play pickle ball in the morning. Mummy and I went to meet him at 10:30. We missed seeing him play, but he was happy and scooped me up so I could lick his sweaty face. I was exhausted after my five minute walk so we all went back to the boat. It started raining so we were all lazy together. Daddy read the news, mummy read her book which was getting to the exciting bit and managed to get back off to sleep. We had my favorite lunch - chicken, and lazed again until it stopped raining. I was quite happy with this arrangement but Daddy mentioned something about exercising and we were off to the dog park. I had three little friends to say hello to. Tiko tried to hump me but I quickly let him know I was not interested. Mocha was very sweet, but Tiko chased her around the park, jumping her when he got the chance. I said hello to Princess, but she just wanted to sit between her Mommy and Daddy. Us dogs quickly figured things out, but the parents! There was so much tension in the dog park it was embarrassing. Princess’s parents were concerned with Tiko humping Mocha. Mocha’s Mom was not concerned as long as Tiko had been fixed. I could clearly see that Tiko was missing his goodies. As Tiko and Mocha glided past Princess’s Dad in their tangle of playfulness, he gave Tiko a push and a kick. He then asked Tiko’s Mom to put him on a leash. Voices were beginning to get to a shouty level so I walked to the gate and we left discreetly. They were still shouting at each other as walked past the beach. I have been missing out all these years - I never knew the dog park was like a reality TV show. We got back to the boat just as the rain started again so we had a good excuse to continue reading and napping after happy hour on the boat. By the way, happy hour starts at four on the keys - we don’t have to wait for the sun to go over the yard arm or anything like that. Tomorrow will be rainy too but my parents muttered something about achieving more tomorrow. I wonder if that means I will be going back to the dog park…


Comments