Sailing South on Solitude

John, Penni & Timmy 2024

On the Dry Tortugas

So happy to be on dry land- especially on the Dry Tortugas.
Was it worth it?
People had told us the Tortugas were unmissable. Everyone had a different reason- the sail out here, the snorkeling, the fort, the isolation. Apart from the snorkeling, they were all right. We have loved every minute of our day here. Before the tourist ferry was due at 11, we took the dinghy into the beach. We dragged her up the beach and tied her to a branch so we could go and explore. The fort is nowhere near the oldest fort have seen but it was definitely one of the most impressive. With three stories, outstanding views of the ocean, interesting history, and relaxing self tour, we spent an hour looking around and only left when the visitors from the ferry arrived. We got talking to one couple who had just arrived but were still feeling queasy after the ferry ride - apparently it had been a bit choppy and lots of people were sick. I think I will take a Mercalm tomorrow. Anyway, we asked them if they could text Jim when they got back to Key West to update him on our new plans and to let our parents know we made it here. We don't know at this point if the plan worked but thought they would appreciate an update. After a snack lunch we went to south beach to snorkel. It was still pretty rough out there so we did not think it would be great. John went first (John always goes first so he can warn me of any dangers. For example, if he gets stung by a jelly fish, I will know not to go in.) We had been told that a lot of fish swim by the fort wall so John headed out there. He saw a huge school of fish that enveloped him. Very cool, but the visibility was not great. I went in more for the refreshing swim that anything else. I followed John's path to the outer wall and the waves crashed around me. I tried swimming towards the wall and felt the waves swooping down on me. Not being the strongest of swimmers I swam to the inner wall instead. I saw a couple of fish but it was too sandy to identify them. Oh well, it was refreshing and a sense of achievement. We came back to the boat for a cup of tea and a chocolate to celebrate the Tortuga adventure. The snorkeling was disappointing but everything else exceeded our expectations. There is plenty more to explore next time we visit. The weather is not due to get much calmer tomorrow. It will be a little rougher than we hoped with 3 - 4 foot waves. The wind will be a little stronger than we wanted at 15 knots. 15 is fine, but I always assume it could be a little heavier than forecast. We will make an early start, as soon as it is light and hope we get to Key West before dark. If that looks impossible, we will anchor overnight at the Marquesas. I am hoping I sleep better tonight. Last night, a kind fellow cruiser warned John that we were too close to the shallows. John thanked him and said he would check. John showed me the charts and it looked like we were fine but I could not get that thought out of my head. Tonight, I know the anchor is secure so I should sleep well. Of course, I will probably worry about the voyage home instead...


Comments