Sailing South on Solitude

John, Penni & Timmy 2024

Farewell Key West

We began our return to Key Largo today. We will be taking our time, especially as the wind will be getting a bit too strong after tomorrow. We got some jobs that require a marina done in the morning- vacuuming, trimming Timmy, disposing of trash, emptying the holding tank and taking Timmy for a walk. We left Key West around midday with the tide helping us out. We were able to sail for about twenty minutes without assistance from the engine, but the rest of the time the wind was on the nose so we motor-sailed. It was a calm day and it was easy to anchor at Niles Channel - south of Big Pine Key. John has been here before on Roeboat. There are no other boats around today so we decided it would be nice to achieve one of my goals for this trip- go skinny dipping. John wanted to snorkel first to check the anchor and reported that the water was very cold. I am even more wimpy than John with cold water so the skinny dipping would have to wait. I donned my wetsuit top and all three of us enjoyed a swim close to the boat. The tide was quite strong carrying us away from the boat which is why we did not go far. We were pleased to see that Timmy could still get back to the boat and get his front paws on the ladder. Once onboard, we got the shower ready and then John decided to skinny dip after all. I paced back and forth for a couple of minutes, as the sensible voice in my head talked me out of it- the water is cold, there are weeds floating around and who know where they might get to, boats may come close. Finally I channeled my sense of fun and adventure, discarded my clothes and got in. I refused to miss out on my own goal. I don't know why swimming in the nude is so much more enjoyable than in a swimsuit, but it was as liberating as I had hoped. Timmy watched with interest, glad that he was not required to go back in. After warm showers for all three of us, John and I saw no need to put clothes back on. So we created our own little naturist camp until the sun went down. You will be very pleased to see that today's picture highlights John snorkeling and not the skinny dipping. By the way, the weeds did not get anywhere they should not (as far as we know).


Comments