Sailing South on Solitude

John, Penni & Timmy 2024

This morning

This morning seems like a long time ago. Our day has had so many different parts to it. Part One: John woke me up at 7:30. I did not leap out of bed. The night was hot but it didn’t really keep me awake for too long. I would wake up- move to the cooler spot at cabin entrance and fall back to sleep - but that happened half a dozen times. So I definitely thought I deserved a slow start to the morning. I had forgotten that we needed to leave at 9 so we would make the Snake Pass Bridge by the 11 o clock opening. Luckily there was not much to prepare and we left just five minutes late. Part 2: We raised the sails almost immediately and motor sailed for just over an hour. As we neared the bridge, we took the sails down and slowed the engine. This was the beginning of the shallows that we had to snake around. There were lots of navigational aids to help us but we did not want to make a mistake added to which, we were half an hour early for the bridge. Although I noted the time, I was very restrained in commenting about how much more time I could have had in bed.Safely through the shallows and the bridge, we got to the anchorage around midday. Part 3: It is a super anchorage with clear water and a restaurant on a small beach. Part 4: First thing John wanted to do was to dive under the boat and clean the bottom. Usually we have a diver do this every month, but with the warm water and not knowing who to call or trust, this seemed a better option. Timmy and I joined him in the water for a swim but did not get involved in the mucky stuff. Part 5: We then had a snack lunch, completed more Bahama research and then rowed in to try out the restaurant. With tables either in the beach or under the tiki roof, it was a beautiful place to eat. We both had fish - mine was with a tropical salad and Johns came with fries- both were delicious. Part 6: We rowed around the bay after lunch and then John decided her would go up the mast as the anchor light was not cooperating. Whilst up there he added the lightening strike protector as well. All successful, but I can tell you the mast is higher than it looks and it took all my strength to winch him up to the top. I was pretty relieved to get him down safely too. We plan on staying here again tomorrow but we have had a couple of mosquitos in the boat so we may change our minds by morning.


Comments