Sailing South on Solitude

John, Penni & Timmy 2024

Family and Friends

This is our last post for this trip. May there be many more adventures to come. Last words from Penni: I have to take a moment to thank family and friends in England, America and wherever, for taking the time to read the blog. It has encouraged me to stay committed to posting on a regular basis - nearly every day for the last 130 days. Frank and Jenny have contributed nearly as much as I have with their detailed comments providing insight and advice. I am especially indebted to them for the advice to wear flip flops in the showers as that changed my feeling from grossed out to comfortable. I mentally thank Jim every day, as Solitudes previous owner he made such a good choice of boat and diligently cared for her which makes her a joy to own. He has also been receiving our mail while we have been gone. We are grateful to Morris who went above and beyond. We left our car in his driveway and he has been pumping up tyres, and washing it on a regular basis. He also helped us drop off the rental car yesterday which involved transferring a lot of stuff from one car to another. Ellie’s family who welcomed us to the Fort Lauderdale area and which remains one of the highlights of our trip. But the most recognition has to go to John. I have been feeling so incredibly grateful to him these last few days, but throughout the adventure really. I would not have embarked on this journey if it were not for him. There is no way I would have woken up one morning and thought ‘I would like to live on a sailboat for the next four months and see how far I can get.’ This was John’s dream that subtly became mine. I cannot put my finger on the exact time, but I suspect it was as early as our first stop in Thunderbolt. We had spent most of the day sailing or motoring to our destination, then ate out and explored the town. I knew then that I enjoyed the life of exploration but I was still reserving judgement as their were so many unknowns. John, with patience, empathy and determination has held my hand as he encouraged me to step over the stream of worry to explore the world around me. In doing so, we have delighted in each other’s company as well as the discovery of people, places, wildlife and nature. John has demonstrated incredible skill in operating Solitude, interpreting the forecasts, and completing the never ending number of tasks to maintain and fix a boat. I remain particularly grateful for the time he fixed the engine when we were stuck in the middle of the ocean between Bimini and Great Harbor. I would not like the responsibility he assumed in being the captain. He was responsible for keeping Timmy, myself and Solitude safe and in one piece. He included me in most decisions which was crucial if I was to feel some control of a world I knew little about. John- I did not think it possible for me to love you any more, but this adventure has united and strengthened us as we have delighted in new sights, solved problems together, and seen the humor in mundane daily tasks. Thank you.
Last words from John: “See that red mark? Don’t hit it :-). I can’t express myself like Penni & Timmy can but I would like to reiterate Penni’s thanks to everyone for all their help. Especially to Caren and Erle for taking care of us in Ft Lauderdale, Shaw & Laura for treating us in Boca Raton, Scott & Mary for their friendship and hospitality, Greg & Kathie for their friendship and hospitality Jim and Morris for all their support and Bill & Deb for housing the homeless! Oh, I almost forgot, a big thanks to my lovely wife for being so patient with this cranky old fart ! I have thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our first voyage, meeting many new friends, exploring so many places. It was a fantastic experience and one I hope we can repeat soon. So much to explore in my retirement!!!
Last words from Timmy: I never know what is going to happen next. I wake up in the morning in the V birth and have my breakfast. Then the engine may start and when I get off the boat I am in a completely new place. I love to explore the new smells and seek our people who might give me a treat. I knew something different was happening this week, but just thought mummy was cleaning- which is a rare event indeed. I was so excited when I was put in a truck between mummy and daddy. I wagged my tail and looked out the window knowing this was different. I fell asleep after a long time of wagging my tail. Daddy says I was awake for twenty minutes. I woke up when I detected the familiar smell of the marshlands. I looked out of the window and wagged my tail as I began to recognize familiar places. When we got onto the island, I scratched at the door so I could get out. Mommy told me to wait so I pretended to need a pee pee. They let me out at a gas station and I searched for familiar smells. They then told me we were going to Bill and Deb’s. I love Bill and Deb so I whined all the way there. Mummy and Daddy hate the sound of me whining so I know they will get me there as quickly as possible. I ran into their house and let them love on me. I enjoyed having dinner there and then waited by the door knowing we go home after dinner. This time though, mommy put my blanket on a beautiful bed and I slept there with Mommy and Daddy. All three of us in one bed. I love living here and have settled right in. I wonder when and where the next adventure will be, but right now I have the important task of looking for lizards and, as Scott and Mary say, I need a treat. Picture of me finding shade under the helm.


Comments