Sailing South on Solitude

John, Penni & Timmy 2024

New territory

I have been to Beaufort before. In fact I think it was the first overnight trip we did on Solitude. Jim still owned her then, but he went off to stay in a hotel while John and I stayed on the boat. I can't remember if I slept well, but the magic of the weekend certainly captured my imagination. Now I don't think anything of staying on Solitude as she is our home away from home. Everything went according to plan today. We sprang off the dock at 9:45, made it through the swing bridge at 10 am and reserved our place at Edisto Beach Marina, letting them know we were aiming to be there around 4. We pulled in, a little windswept as the wind had been on our nose most of the way, at 3:50. This is my first time north of Beaufort. John did this part of South Carolina with Daniela to celebrate her graduation from college. John was excited to share the Edisto experience with me. The start was not promising. Granted, the marina has a South Carolina rustic feel and we received a warm welcome. But the restaurant is closed for renovations and the bathrooms, not safe for a Penni to enter, also needing renovation. Luckily I had done some research and had a plan. We walked a mile up the beach and had a wonderful meal at Whaley’s- famous for being one of the top 25 seafood dives in the country. It started life in the 1940's as a gas station and the pumps are still there although not operational I was starving so the crab cakes were extra tasty, especially as there was lots of crab in them. We walked the mile back along one of the quiet streets where we saw more golf carts and bikes than cars. Mostly in fact it was just us. Our evening consisted of wishing Max a happy 30th, watching the beautiful sunset and then collapsing in bed. We plan to head through the ICW towards Charleston tomorrow. We won't do a early start but will take our time and stop at an anchorage tomorrow and get to Charleston the next day.


Comments