s/v LONG WINDID

"We're grateful for being here, wherever here is."

That’s My Danny Boy!

Dan and I are now here in beautiful Oahu, Hawaii after spending the last four months in Florida caring for my Mom. She is doing remarkably well and is now being cared for by my brother.
Before Dan departed Hawaii for Florida, he spent 10 days getting Long Windid in ship-shape condition after a long hard passage from Fiji. He also secured the boat for a hurricane that could possibly blow through the islands during the season. Once we arrived in Hawaii, I was pleasantly surprised to see how well maintained the exterior of Long Windid looked. Down below everything seemed to be orderly (just like Dan had told it would be). However, when I opened the cupboards and closets I was disappointed in what I saw. It was as if Danny was a little boy again and was told to clean and straighten out his room. Anything and everything was stuffed in the closets to hide it from view. Needless-to-say, everything in the boat from stem to stern was taken apart or out and then cleaned and reorganized to my standards. For those of you who know me personally, you know I'm a little "over the top", but after two weeks of thorough cleaning, Long Windid has never looked so good!
Now, I can continue to relax on the beach overlooking the lagoon in Ko Olina, just 16 miles north of Honolulu. We are both anxiously awaiting the arrival of dear friends from the mainland in the next couple of weeks. Can't wait to see them.



Comments