Time Warp

19 December 2011 | Seattle, Washington
19 November 2011 | Seattle, WA
28 September 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
05 August 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
01 August 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
23 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina, Oak Harbor, WA
18 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina
15 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina
10 July 2011 | 350 nm off Cape Flattery
07 July 2011 | Somewhere out in the Big Pond
01 July 2011 | 37N; 153W
01 July 2011 | 36N; 155W
28 June 2011 | 29N; 157W
25 June 2011 | Poor Boyz Yacht Club, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Honolulu
22 June 2011 | Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Honolulu, Hawaii
21 June 2011 | Lahaina, Maui
11 June 2011 | 20.5N; 151W
11 June 2011 | 18.5N; 148W
11 June 2011 | 18.5N; 144W

Tired in Crete

12 April 2010 | Agios Nicholaos
Peter
I just woke up from a good sleep. I still feel like I've been in a train wreck! That first day was the worst. 12-15' seas and 30-35k winds. After that, each day just piled it on more and more. First the anchor getting stuck in the rock. That didn't physically tire me out, but it was emotionally tiring. Then furling and unfurling jib reefs, main reefs, spinnaker. You know how I am...gotta be dialed in to the wind. Underpowered or overpowered requires a sail change. And so it went. Yesterday we were hard on the wind. Thank God we didn't have to tack. But we were still close hauled. And then I thought we might not have enough fuel!

But then I remembered we carry an extra jug of diesel on deck. But when I went up to fetch it...it was empty!! Not much point carrying an extra jug on deck if it is empty, now is there?! Not sure how or when that happened. So we sailed. I was also emotionally distraught cuz Ruth was so ill. I feel personally responsible and when I get her in shit like that. I really feel like I let her down. As the day wore on, she started feeling better, and so did I.

Will and I went out for pizza last night. We still have one more meal of bonito. But I was too tired to cook and Ruth was still tired and it was time to celebrate our arrival. Will and I had fun at dinner. It is slow season (still). So when we walked in, the place was empty. It is a couple who runs it. He waits on people downstairs while his wife cooks everything upstairs. They have a dumb waiter for food delivery. In America, we are used to getting up and going after the meal is over. But in Europe, I am (finally) learning that the meal is an 'event'. We have always had a problem getting our check after a meal. That is because us Americans want to get up and go!! In Europe, you sit down, enjoy your meal, then sit back and enjoy your meal!!! So I have to make an adjustment and learn.

As it was, after the meal the guy running the restaurant asked me if I wanted coffee, beer, rum, or anything else from the bar. I said 'no', that I was going to go back to the boat and have an ouzo. Well, that was all he needed to hear. He gets out a bottle of ouzo and poured me shot. Then he gets out a shot glass and pours Will one! Only this one was water, flavored with ouzo. (Get 'em started young, I say!) Will didn't want to drink it. He thought it was ouzo. Even when the guy said "trust me", Will wasn't trusting him. It wasn't until I said it was OK that he tried it. Then he drank the whole shot.

After that, the guy comes out with some peeled and pitted loquats. I had never had one, I don't think. Very yummy and juicy. We'll go back today so he can make one for Ruth. The whole time Will and I are watching football (soccer!!) on the big screen. It was kinda fun to watch a big screen for a change. A really good team was playing a really bad team, so it was fun to see the goals being made. Usually soccer is so low-scoring that I get bored. But not this time.

After the loquats, Will and I are still enjoying the game when I finally asked him for the bill (45 min. after we had finished our meal). He brings the bill with 2 mints!! Then he brings the change back with 2 more mints!! So we had fun being treated royally. But I was too tired to 'engage' him like I might normally. Even so, it was fun.

Today we will explore the town of Agios Nicholaos. I am planned to be hauled today, but I am going to pass. I want to give the boat a bath from all the salt, plus take a day to rest. Also, it is forecast Force 6 (22-27k) today, which makes the travellift a bit dicey. We'll wait tomorrow when a Force 2 (4-6k) is forecast. That will give me today to rest, regain my senses, get a bearing on the town, and prep for the haul.

Comments
Vessel Name: Time Warp
Vessel Make/Model: Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 45.2
Hailing Port: Seattle, WA
Crew: Peter, Ruth & Will
About:
Seattle-based crew out for 3-4 years. We'll start in the Med in Spring, 2009, visit the Caribbean, Panama Canal, So. Pacific, and eventually end up in Oz. After that? Who knows! Peter is an avid sailor and world-class racer. Ruth is learning to sail, and Will is a very good youth sailor. [...]

Who: Peter, Ruth & Will
Port: Seattle, WA