Time Warp

19 December 2011 | Seattle, Washington
19 November 2011 | Seattle, WA
28 September 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
05 August 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
01 August 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
23 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina, Oak Harbor, WA
18 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina
15 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina
10 July 2011 | 350 nm off Cape Flattery
07 July 2011 | Somewhere out in the Big Pond
01 July 2011 | 37N; 153W
01 July 2011 | 36N; 155W
28 June 2011 | 29N; 157W
25 June 2011 | Poor Boyz Yacht Club, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Honolulu
22 June 2011 | Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Honolulu, Hawaii
21 June 2011 | Lahaina, Maui
11 June 2011 | 20.5N; 151W
11 June 2011 | 18.5N; 148W
11 June 2011 | 18.5N; 144W

ARC Musical Chairs

20 October 2010 | La Linea, Spain
Peter
We crossed the Straits Tuesday on a beam reach (and a beam sea!). The forecasted 10k easterly magically came in at 17-20k and made for both a lumpy sea and a fast passage. I was reminded in the middle of the Straits that even though they are several hundred tons bigger than me, freighters still have to obey the same rules of the road.

We had a freighter approaching from our port beam and under the rules of the road, we had the right of way. But as he got closer I bailed and altered course to pass astern of him. But then he altered course dramatically to pass astern of us! So I went back to my original course and he passed astern. I am so used to the 'tonnage' rule that I forgot my own obligations as the 'stand on' vessel.

The past week or so has been a whirlwind of musical chairs with the crew. Early last week I received word from one of our ARC crew, David (from England), that a family emergency had come up. It was of such a grave nature that it was preventing him from participating in the ARC! I was filled with mixed emotions - heartache for what David must be going through and confusion at this sudden turn of events from my well-orchestrated plans.

I quickly put the word out on the internet looking for new crew. The next day one of our other ARC crew, Andy (from Canada), informs me that he, too, has had a critical family emergency come up! Yikes! How can all of this be unraveling so fast?!! Fortunately, Andy recommitted to doing the ARC. Whew! But he also informed me that he would not be available for the delivery from Gibraltar to the Canaries. With David gone and Andy unavailable for the delivery, our delivery crew had dwindled to Elise (Ireland/France), Will and I. Our boat is pretty easy to sail shorthanded. But I would rather not. Hmmmm....what to do?

In the course of filtering through inquiries regarding the available ARC spot, Andy referred a friend of his to me. Tim Mastel-Marr is from Edmonton and besides sailing with Andy on some different races, just completed this year's Vic-Maui. Meanwhile, Victor Raymond chimed in with his interest in going. Victor has been a regular follower and contributor of this blog space and owns a sistership to Time Warp. Then, finally, another man came through my internet ad who has a 10-year-old godson who he wanted to bring along. I am thinking "Hmmm, that could be fun for Will!"

In the end I selected Tim to join us on the ARC. But as it turns out, the other two (or three!) will get to help us with the delivery!! I feel immensely blessed (and relieved)! Blessed that I would receive so much interest to sail with us. Blessed that these men would step in where needed. And blessed in the way everyone is pulling together. The trials these two men (Andy and Dave) have endured of late has coalesced our team in a manner I could never have imagined. Everyone is stepping it up a notch. It is really pretty incredible to witness. It gives me a "warm fuzzy"!!!

So for now it looks like we will have five to scamper across the pond with and six to get us down to the start area. I am working hard on trying to keep my expectations in check. But when so many people chime in with a "can do" attitude, you get the feeling that nothing is out of reach! Now if we can just get everyone else - and especially the politicians - to adopt such an attitude!!!
Comments
Vessel Name: Time Warp
Vessel Make/Model: Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 45.2
Hailing Port: Seattle, WA
Crew: Peter, Ruth & Will
About:
Seattle-based crew out for 3-4 years. We'll start in the Med in Spring, 2009, visit the Caribbean, Panama Canal, So. Pacific, and eventually end up in Oz. After that? Who knows! Peter is an avid sailor and world-class racer. Ruth is learning to sail, and Will is a very good youth sailor. [...]

Who: Peter, Ruth & Will
Port: Seattle, WA